TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are


No more lucid and poignant now than in recent history, I know the TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are. We can seemingly make choices and decisions, but they all are subject to divine veto. This week, I finally began to solidify plans to take my family to Washington D.C. My family had been there years ago, but I felt it was time for my kids to revisit all the museums and other sites to crystalize them and their significance in their memories. Also, a friend’s daughter was supposed to give birth of their first grandchild. It was also to be there in support of their family.

Proverbs 19:21 says, “Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” Again, the Word of God is true. Tuesday, June 13, the dates for the trip were established. Other family members confirmed their attendance on those dates. A friend had begun laying the foundation to secure hotel rooms on those dates at a discounted rate under his business plan. I came home from work, ate, and went outside to play catch with my son. We also talked about and worked through some football drills. Then, I realized the TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are. After being outside with him for almost an hour, it happened. An event beyond my control and certainly not by my choice. As I had done about 12 times before, I was finishing the “W” drill with my son. Then I heard a loud pop. Immediately, I fell to the ground. I looked at my leg and it was warped. I could not get up as my achilles tendon had ruptured. Proverbs 19:21 came to mind a little later. We all make plans that do not come to pass, but it is the will of God that always comes to pass. Isaiah 14:27 says, “For the Lord Almighty has purposed, and who can thwart him? His hand is stretched out, and who can turn it back?

The Apostle Paul recognized the TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are. He said as much several times in many of his letters.

1 Corinthians 1:1

Paul, called to be an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and our brother Sosthenes,


2 Corinthians 1:1
Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Timothy our brother, 
To the church of God in Corinth, together with all his holy people throughout Achaia:


Ephesians 1:1

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, To God’s holy people in Ephesus, the…

Colossians 1:1

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Timothy our brother,

2 Timothy 1:1

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, in keeping with the promise of life that is…
God purposed for Paul, who originally opposed the church killing my followers of Christ, to preach the good news of Jesus Christ to the Gentiles. Follow me to Acts 9

“Meanwhile, Saul was still breathing out murderous threats against the Lord’s disciples. He went to the high priest and asked him for letters to the synagogues in Damascus, so that if he found any there who belonged to the Way, whether men or women, he might take them as prisoners to Jerusalem. As he neared Damascus on his journey, suddenly a light from heaven flashed around him. He fell to the ground and heard a voice say to him, “Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me?”

“Who are you, Lord?” Saul asked.

“I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting,” he replied. “Now get up and go into the city, and you will be told what you must do.”…..

the Lord said to Ananias, “Go! This man is my chosen instrument to proclaim my name to the Gentiles and their kings and to the people of Israel. 16 I will show him how much he must suffer for my name.””

Saul who later became Paul by the will of God, learned the TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are. Saul’s temporary blindness was used for God to direct him to God’s Will. That blindness came as an opportunity to encounter God. My ruptured achilles with the accompanying costs for the surgery are a means for me to encounter God. It is an avenue for me to become what God has called me to be. It is me learning the TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are.

TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are. How has God altered or changed your plans? How have you responded? Were you angry and disappointed? Have you allowed your emotions to drive you away from God or to God? Look at Paul; look at me and decide to live by the TRUTH: By the Will of God, We Are What We Are. God has purpose and none of us can thwart what He has purposed. Surrender and walk with Him in peace to discover the Will of God for your life.

Leave a Reply

