TRUTH: Who is God to You?


We all have an idea of who God is. All of our concepts of Him are flawed because we are flawed. Since we have sinful and warped minds, it would benefit us greatly to reshape our thinking of who God is, His character, and what God can do, His power. We face difficulties in life that I call Moments of Faith. What we believe about who God is and what God can do will dictate our response and more importantly how God is engaged in those times with us.

The Word of God is provided, so that we can “be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Why is that important?  “Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2

In Psalm 62, we learn from one whom God placed in His Word as an example for us. We can identify with David, because, like us, he had many flaws; however, God highlights and heralds him as one for us to learn from and possibly emulate in terms of continual turning to God in faith to be our God, refuge, shield, deliverer and salvation.

Let’s see this in Psalm 62

Truly my soul finds rest in God;
    my salvation comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
    he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

How long will you assault me?
    Would all of you throw me down—
    this leaning wall, this tottering fence?
Surely they intend to topple me
    from my lofty place;
    they take delight in lies.
With their mouths they bless,
    but in their hearts they curse.

Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
    my hope comes from him.
Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
    he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God;
    he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, you people;
    pour out your hearts to him,
    for God is our refuge.

Surely the lowborn are but a breath,
    the highborn are but a lie.
If weighed on a balance, they are nothing;
    together they are only a breath.
10 Do not trust in extortion
    or put vain hope in stolen goods;
though your riches increase,
    do not set your heart on them.

11 One thing God has spoken,
    two things I have heard:
“Power belongs to you, God,
12     and with you, Lord, is unfailing love”;
and, “You reward everyone
    according to what they have done.”

Extract what you can from the Word of God. Apply one thing to your life today and be different for it.

Leave a Reply

