TRUTH: Hope Deferred Makes the Heart Sick


Much has been said and written about hope. Wikipedia defines hope as an optimistic attitude of mind that is based on an expectation of positive outcomes related to events and circumstances in one’s life or the world at large. As a verb, its definitions include: “expect with confidence” and “to cherish a desire with anticipation”.

We all know what is like to have a hope deferred or even dashed. It is sickening to have a hope deferred or defeating to have a hope dashed.

Let’s listen and meditate on what the Proverbs 13:12 has to say about the matter.

Proverbs 13:12

12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
    but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life. (NIV)
12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
But desire fulfilled is a tree of life. (NASB)
12 Hope deferred makes the heart sick,
But when the desire comes, it is a tree of life. (NKJV)

We also know what is like to have a hope fulfilled. The tree of life is an allusion to the garden God created intended for man’s full life without sin and perfectly provided. It is refreshing.

All of us presently have hopes. Some times, those hopes are delayed. Other times, those hopes are denied. God desires for us to live a life where all of our hopes will be met in Him. He should be our greatest hope. His way and His will should be our greatest hope. This is the true meaning behind TRUTH: GOD, My Shield & Very Great Reward.

As I challenge myself this morning and for the next few weeks of meditation, I want to focus on knowing Christ as Savior and Lord which affords me the privilege to have a relationship with Almighty God. For with out Christ, I have no way to God. Focus on Christ being our reward, our riches, our treasure. He is the gate to God. Join me in taking our expectations off a bigger house, a better relationship, a better car, a higher paying job, a desired prognosis or any desired expectation beyond knowing Christ.

Here is how Paul said it.
But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. 10 I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings,becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead. (Philippians 3:7-11)

Leave a comment