TRUTH: GOD, My Shield & Very Great Reward


There are many things I desire in life. Those things that are greatly desired are followed by earnest pursuits. What are the things that you greatly desire? We go all out for those things that are greatly desired. For me, peace was my motivation at an early age. As far back as I can remember, all I wanted was to be at peace. Whether emotional, physical, or relational, assault was the norm in my life. I wanted an escape. I wanted a way out of that turmoil. Then, God called my name commanding me to open my eyes and ears. When I did, He entered my heart and gave me peace.

How did I arrive at peace? Not to get too theological, I want to tell you the TRUTH: GOD, My Shield & Very Great Reward. For this, I want to reflect on what God told Abram in Genesis 15:1

After this, the word of the Lord came to Abram in a vision:

“Do not be afraid, Abram.
    I am your shield,
    your very great reward.”

But Abram said, “Sovereign Lord, what can you give me since I remain childless and the one who will inherit my estate is Eliezer of Damascus?” And Abram said, “You have given me no children; so a servant in my household will be my heir.”

Then the word of the Lord came to him: “This man will not be your heir, but a son who is your own flesh and blood will be your heir.” He took him outside and said, “Look up at the sky and count the stars—if indeed you can count them.” Then he said to him, “So shall your offspring be.”

Abram believed the Lord, and he credited it to him as righteousness.

That is what God told Abram. Like Abram, we totally miss who God is and what He is to us. Undoubtedly, children are a blessing and an inheritance from God, but God is the greatest inheritance. Let’s just think about what God told Abram about who He is.

God commands Abram not to be afraid. In other words, God told Abram to be at peace. Why could Abram not be afraid or to be at peace? It all hinges on God – who He is. TRUTH: GOD, My Shield & Very Great Reward.

“I am your shield, your very great reward.” A shield protects from hurt, harm and danger. A reward is something given or received in return or recompense for service. A reward is a payment of contract; concretely, salary, fare, maintenance; by implication, compensation, benefit:—hire, price, reward(-ed), wages, worth. The reward is not just a simple reward. God uses double adjectives to tell us the enormity of His reward. Very Great or exceedingly great speaks of the expansiveness of God being our payment in exchange for our service to Him. In essence, God was telling Abram and us the TRUTH: GOD, My Shield & Very Great Reward.

I really cannot tell you what that means for you as I do not know your life story or circumstances, but what I can tell you is that you should reflect on God being your shield and reward. What I do know about you is that you need to be protected and need to be provided. Meditate on that as I am. I am asking God to give us a deeper understanding of the TRUTH: GOD, My Shield & Very Great Reward.

Leave a Reply

