Truth or Lies?


Truth or Lies? Despite our societies renewal to shades of gray, misspeaking or alternative truths, life, in the vast majority of our decisions, comes down to a decision between Truth or Lies. As one who has worked with students for almost 27 years and one with my own offsprings, I see how children suffer a barrage of lies about their self-image and their future. Furthermore, I see how adults are inundated with a torrent of lies that rivals the fiercest tsunami. The question is not whether we will face the dilemma between Truth or Lies, but when will we not. So then, how committed are we to the truth? Are we committed not only to telling the truth, but for thinking what is true? If we are not committed to thinking what is true, we will not be committed to telling the truth and certainly not living the truth. Since that is the reality, it behooves us to pursue truth.

Jesus answered, I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” John 14

Today begins posts about my pursuits or explorations into The Truth, Jesus. Why? I too face the matter of Truth or Lies. I must be dedicated to filtering my thoughts through The Truth, The Word of God. We know that “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” John 10:10  My enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8 Of him, Jesus said, “You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.” John 8:44

I want to clearly see the difference between Truth or Lies. We know that Jesus opens the eyes of the blind.

Mark 10

46 Then they came to Jericho. As Jesus and his disciples, together with a large crowd, were leaving the city, a blind man, Bartimaeus (which means “son of Timaeus”), was sitting by the roadside begging. 47 When he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to shout, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”

48 Many rebuked him and told him to be quiet, but he shouted all the more, “Son of David, have mercy on me!”

49 Jesus stopped and said, “Call him.”

So they called to the blind man, “Cheer up! On your feet! He’s calling you.” 50 Throwing his cloak aside, he jumped to his feet and came to Jesus.

51 “What do you want me to do for you?” Jesus asked him.

The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.”

52 “Go,” said Jesus, “your faith has healed you.” Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus along the road.

“The Lord gives sight to the blind” Psalm 146:8 I want to see The Truth, so I will not believe lies to my detriment. Paul told the Galatians that “We did not give in to them for a moment, so that the truth of the gospel might be preserved for you.” Like Paul, I want to be sure I am not running and have not been running my race in vain. If I am not committed to discerning between Truth or Lies, I may be caught up in a web of lies mixed with a little truth designed to deceive me. “17 If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy that person; for God’s temple is sacred, and you together are that temple. 18 Do not deceive yourselves. If any of you think you are wise by the standards of this age, you should become “fools” so that you may become wise. 19 For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness”;1 Corinthians 3:17-19

Furthermore, Jesus said, “Jesus said to them: “Watch out that no one deceives you. Many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am he,’ and will deceive many.” If that does not tell us why we should be committed to discerning between Truth or Lies, may be Ephesians 5:6 which says, “Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient.” will help.

When we see others and ourselves through lenses other than the Word of God, we are deceiving ourselves. We must be committed to The Truth, The Word of God in order to make progress in this battle between Truth or Lies. What will you commit to – Truth, Jesus, or Lies, satan?

Leave a Reply

