What Shall I do?


Life is filled with many instances of uncertainty where we ask What Shall I do? I remember reflecting on this as a young boy in elementary school when I read and memorized Robert Frost’s poem The Road Not Taken. In that poem, the last stanza reads..

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

From small things like which pair of socks to wear to which job to take or is this the person I am to marry. At times, life can be daunting if we allow it. I am sure you can think back over your life where you were vexed about what path to take. What Shall I do?  We see that in the life of Pilate today in Mark 15.

12 “What shall I do, then, with the one you call the king of the Jews?” Pilate asked them.

13 “Crucify him!” they shouted.

14 “Why? What crime has he committed?” asked Pilate.

But they shouted all the louder, “Crucify him!”

15 Wanting to satisfy the crowd, Pilate released Barabbas to them. He had Jesus flogged, and handed him over to be crucified.

While this was a moment of uncertainty for Pilate, it was not because he did not have the right course of action. He did not have the right conviction. Pilate, like us all of us, knew what to do in that moment of crisis. In that moment of crisis, what guides us? Is it convenience or is it conviction.

God’s Word is the key. It is where we develop our sense of conviction. We must obey God’s Word.

The law of the Lord is perfect, refreshing the soul. The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple.
Psalm 32:8 – I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.
Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.
Psalm 119:144 – Your statutes are always righteous; give me understanding that I may live.
Charles Stanley tells us why we still ask What Shall I do? Why we hesitate to obey God’s Word, to follow our convictions.

Why we hesitate to say “no”

  1. Fear of rejection – I can’t stand not being liked, I can’t stand being rejected
  2. Fear of a loss of a relationship – 
  3. Fear of a loss of finances – if I don’t do this, I will never make enough
  4. Fear of a loss of opportunity – if I don’t take this position, I will never make it. God can put you where He wants you inspire of those who are against you.

How we can say “no”

Isaiah 41: 10-12
10 So do not fear, for I am with you;  do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
11 “All who rage against you will surely be ashamed and disgraced; those who oppose you will be as nothing and perish.
12 Though you search for your enemies, you will not find them.

It is our failure to follow our conviction that calls for the shouts to “Crucify Him”. When we place our faith in Jesus Christ, we have His presence, power, promises and assistance in our lives. We also have a definitive answer to the question What Shall I do?  – Choose and Follow Jesus

Leave a Reply

