TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth


In this passage of Mark 12, I have been pleasantly engaged by the Spirit of God. In fact, this morning I arose later than I normally do. After eating breakfast, the Spirit called to me asking if I was going to come back to the Word for Him to give me the other titles for the rest of the passage. I stalled for a moment. Then the Spirit of God said to me, “what on Sports Center will not be repeated, but what I have to say will not be.” I turned off the television; opened the text; read the text, and asked the Spirit to speak to me. My ignoring what I should be engaged in first this morning was tantamount to what was doing in the verses I read. We can TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth.

I sat and ate thinking that I could just go on this morning without giving God the time He deserved first in my life. I was trying to deceive the truth, but I really was deceiving myself. Thank God that He did not allow me to languish in that self-deception. He pursued me just as we see Jesus pursuing people in the text and teaching them.

Mark 12

18 Then the Sadducees, who say there is no resurrection, came to him with a question. 19 “Teacher,” they said, “Moses wrote for us that if a man’s brother dies and leaves a wife but no children, the man must marry the widow and raise up offspring for his brother. 20 Now there were seven brothers. The first one married and died without leaving any children. 21 The second one married the widow, but he also died, leaving no child. It was the same with the third. 22 In fact, none of the seven left any children. Last of all, the woman died too.23 At the resurrection whose wife will she be, since the seven were married to her?”

24 Jesus replied, “Are you not in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God? 25 When the dead rise, they will neither marry nor be given in marriage; they will be like the angels in heaven. 26 Now about the dead rising—have you not read in the Book of Moses, in the account of the burning bush, how God said to him, ‘I am the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob’? 27 He is not the God of the dead, but of the living. You are badly mistaken!”

In response to Jesus, we saw the people in verses 1-12 demonstrate TRUST: People Seek to Disregard the Truth. In verse 13-17, we see people reveal TRUST: People Seek to Discredit the Truth. Today, in verses 18-27, we see TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth. On Friday, Lord willing, we will see TRUST: People seek to Debate the Truth.

How do we see TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth in the passage (18-27) today. First, let us make sure that we have a common understand on deceive. I agree with dictionary.com‘s definition of deceive which is to mislead (to lead or guide wrongly intentionally or not) or falsely persuade others. In the verses reviewed today, how does man Seek to Deceive the Truth, Jesus Christ?

First, the Sadducees, who say there is no resurrection, came to him with a question. Their first error was coming to Jesus rejecting the truth. They did not believe in the resurrection; yet, the response that they sought to evoke from Jesus hinged on the resurrection. God was particular about Mark including that fact about the Sadducees, so we could learn how we come to Jesus in error. The second error they made was being ignorant about what happens for believers in the resurrection. I presume they did not seek to find out because they rejected the truth/reality of the resurrection. How many people will make this same mistake about God? They don’t believe in Him, so many other positions will be forfeited because they fail to believe in Him. Lastly, the final error I see, I am sure there are more, is that under estimated who Jesus is – they did not count on Him being God who is able to identify their errors and point them out to them using the scriptures which they initially came to Jesus under the guise of believing. TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth 

Jesus was masterful, pun intended, in His response to them. First, He listened. That is the hope anyone has who does accept Christ as Lord and Savior – Jesus is willing to listen. By His grace, He then responded. The Sadducees had attempted to Deceive Jesus because they themselves were deceived, but because of His mercy and grace, Jesus listen and taught them again. He gave them an assessment of how they arrived in their condition.  24 Jesus replied, “Are you not in error because you do not know the Scriptures or the power of God? This is true for us all – we are in error because we don’t know Scriptures or the power of God. When I reflect, that is so true. When not in out right rebellion, I make poor decision because I either don’t know the Scriptures or I fail to remember or recall the power of God. This was the error of their ways and led to them being deceived. TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth and are themselves deceived. 

Look at your life to see where you may be deceived. Click the link to learn more about being deceived. verses on being deceived

Whether intentionally or not, remember TRUST: People Seek to Deceive the Truth

Leave a Reply

