TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong?


Whether one subscribes to Abraham Maslow’s theory or not, we all have been impacted by what he proposed. Maslow presented an original hierarchy of needs that are the following: Physiological, Safety, Belongingness and Love, Esteem and Self-Actualization. In comparison with the world, there is a relatively small percentage of people who fail to have their Physiological and Safety needs met. While I am not diminishing the struggles in those areas I see everyday at school, the largest category, in comparison to all Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, is Belongingness and Love. The title of today’s post prompted me to think of Maslow as belongingness is huge in terms of social dynamics in our lives. To me, it is the gateway to a fulfilled and rewarding life. It is essential for us to determine TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong? 

Arguably, the greatest determinant of life is found in TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong? I will not make this a long post. I will not complicate the matter. According to Maslow, Belongingness and Love include friendship, intimacy, affection and love, from work group, family, friends, romantic relationships. As my wife entered the room where I am writing this morning, I was prompted to ask her what her biggest need is. She first gave me a want, but I reiterated NEED. She then conveyed to not succumb to fear. What is your greatest need? As I was reading in Mark 9, I found this nugget, this one liner that just grabbed my attention. Bells went off in my head. To reiterate, satiating one’s Belongingness and Love need it is the gateway to a fulfilled and rewarding life. I liken it to the fuel for a vehicle. Without fuel, the vehicle cannot fulfill its highest purpose – to transport people. Our highest purpose is to glorify God (Psalm 86, Isaiah 60:21, Romans 11:36, 1 Corinthians 6:20, 10:31, Revelation 4:11), and to enjoy him for ever (Ps. 16:5-11, 73:25-26, 144:15, Isaiah 12:2, Luke 2:10, Philippians 4:4, Revelation 21:3-4). TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong?

God addressed the matter of belonging and the benefit of in Mark 9. Again, it was a short verse that just leaped off the page at me.

38 “Teacher,” said John, “we saw someone driving out demons in your name and we told him to stop, because he was not one of us.”

39 “Do not stop him,” Jesus said. “For no one who does a miracle in my name can in the next moment say anything bad about me, 40 for whoever is not against us is for us. 41 Truly I tell you, anyone who gives you a cup of water in my name because you belong to the Messiah will certainly not lose their reward.

John asked a question of Jesus. Jesus was answering the question, but in a parenthetical sense, Jesus highlighted the value of the disciples. People can give water to one another, but there is a distinction when someone does something for another in the name of Jesus because the person belongs to Jesus Christ or the Messiah. TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong?

Do you belong to Jesus? There is eternal reward for anyone who does something for another in the name of Jesus for those who belong to Jesus. Many of my woes were resolved when I began to belong to Jesus. How does one belong to God? John 1:12-13 says, “12 Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— 13 children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.Romans 8:14 says, “ For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God.” Have you received Jesus as the Lord and Savior of your life? Are you led by the Holy Spirit? If not, you do not belong to Christ/God. Since you do not belong, you are seeking your belonging in all the wrong places. Your quests has led you to people or things that seemingly would have fulfilled you, but ultimately, you were left on another quest to be fulfilled. TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong?

Surrender your life, your will to Jesus and belong. TRUST: To Whom Do You Belong?

Leave a Reply

