TRUST: In the Word of God


Today, I am breaking ranks from writing in Mark; however, I am complicit with God’s expectation for me to write about TRUST. Since January, God has wanted me to focus on who He is, His character, and what He has done, His power/works. As I began to begin reading Mark this morning, I was confronted with Psalm 119:160 (NIV) which says,

All your words are true; all your righteous laws are eternal.

Those Words of God rang out to me. Those Words of God resonated with me. Those Words of God evoke TRUST. In this political season when truth and righteousness of each candidate is decried by the other, it is refreshing to recall the chasm between the character and nature of God versus that of man. My heart is imbued with TRUST, confidence, and faith in the one true God, Jehovah. God has reminded me to let God’s Word serve as that which renews my mind and guides my heart. It is simple. His Words are true. I can’t say that about mine or anyone else that I know. There is error in all of our words but not God’s. We are not righteous, but God’s laws are righteous and eternal. The encouraging part is that God promises to make those who follow Him true, righteous and eternal of life not death. TRUST: In the Word of God.

As I read much of Psalm 119, I realize that the message to me this morning and again was to TRUST: In the Word of God. Why? Well, that is what the entire Psalm communicates. Since it is the longest psalm at least by twice the length, it would take me a long time to respond appropriately if I could. I have one verse that conveys it all; however, I plead with you to read the entire Psalm or at least a large portion of it such as from 137-176.

TRUST: In the Word of God is seen throughout the chapter and in those suggested verses for reading. Here are two other that reveal more about God’s Word. 

151 Yet you are near, Lord,
    and all your commands are true.
152 Long ago I learned from your statutes
    that you established them to last forever.

In contrast to concern about the future of our country, I am reminded that God is near. What a comfort to embrace. God is near  you and me. He is our refuge and shield. Furthermore, we are told that His commands are true. We can put our TRUST in God’s Word because it is true. In my life experience, I can attest that God’s Word is true; however, God does not need my testimony to validate His Word as it stands alone. We are also told again that God’s  Word last forever i.e. eternal. TRUST: In the Word of God.

Matthew Henry said “Felicity is the thing we all pretend to aim at and pursue.” Well, in Psalm 119, God explicitly tells us how to achieve that aim and arrive at that destination – TRUST: In the Word of God. The benefits are outlined throughout the bible and particularly here in a lucid manner. Do you prefer to trust in lies? Do you prefer to trust in people and things that are not eternally blessed? Do you prefer to trust in people or things that change? God’s righteousness rings loudly here. Do you hear Him?

Leave a Reply

