TRUST: Jesus Has Done This Before.


Ask my two kids, one of my pet peeves is for them to ask me a question to which they already know the answer. In fact, they regularly pick at me by imitating my response which is typically “Why?”. I am asking why because they already know the answer. I am asking why because they should know the answer. I am asking why because I have already conveyed the answer and should not be engaged in this conversation. I do not like repeating myself unnecessarily. Who does? This morning, I stand humbled and corrected because I am guilty of what I loath. I am guilty before God of asking questions for which I already know the answer to because God, through His Word, has already conveyed the answer to me. TRUST: Jesus Has Done This Before.

TRUST: Jesus Has Done This Before should imbue us with faith and confidence. The passage in Mark 8 should be compared with the passage in Mark 6:30-44. In both and surely different situations, Jesus presents the disciples with a problem or dilemma. There is a crowd of thousands who have not eaten. Jesus involves them in solving the problem.

Let’s see it.

Mark 8

During those days another large crowd gathered. Since they had nothing to eat, Jesus called his disciples to him and said, “I have compassion for these people;they have already been with me three days and have nothing to eat. If I send them home hungry, they will collapse on the way, because some of them have come a long distance.”

His disciples answered, “But where in this remote place can anyone get enough bread to feed them?”

“How many loaves do you have?” Jesus asked.

“Seven,” they replied.

He told the crowd to sit down on the ground. When he had taken the seven loaves and given thanks, he broke them and gave them to his disciples to distribute to the people, and they did so. They had a few small fish as well; he gave thanks for them also and told the disciples to distribute them. The people ate and were satisfied. Afterward the disciples picked up seven basketfuls of broken pieces that were left over. About four thousand were present. After he had sent them away, 10 he got into the boat with his disciples and went to the region of Dalmanutha.

Jesus presents the disciples with a problem, dilemma or challenge. However we term it, the disciples have a moment of faith. Like the disciples, we too will continually have moments of faith. This was not the first time for this experience. In Mark 6:30-44 while speaking with a Jewish crowd, Jesus did the exact same thing. The crowd was 5,000 people who needed to be fed. Now with a Gentile crowd, Jesus knows they too need to be fed. He had taught them i.e. spiritual feeding. Now, He wants to feed them physically. This represents the moment of faith for the disciples. God is so committed to those who are His. The disciples did not understand what He had done in Mark 6:30-44 as we read in verse 52 of that chapter. As a committed teacher, Jesus is reteaching content that they did not master.

I am sure Jesus was disappointed that the disciples did not recognize the situation and apply what Jesus had previously done in that situation. I am sure He wanted them to TRUST: Jesus Has Done This Before. Nevertheless, Jesus continued in commitment to His disciples. He feed four thousand with the loaves that they had. In the earlier account, it was loaves/bread from a little boy. Now, it is the bread from the disciples that Jesus uses in efforts to have them personally connect with what He was doing.

From John 6:35 , we know that Jesus declared “I am the bread of life.” He is the bread that will feed us to sustain and keep us. He is the bread the propels us to TRUST: Jesus Has Done This Before. I challenge myself, and I challenge you to recount of examples in your life where God has demonstrated His power in our lives or in the lives of those we know. I challenge you to hold those dear to heart because God will create another moment of faith where we should be able to face that circumstance with confidence because TRUST: Jesus Has Done This Before. 

I heard a song this past week that resonates with this truth. I challenge you to TRUST Jesus today, tomorrow and this week.

Here is the video of the song with the lyrics below.

 

“If He Did It Before (Same God)” by TYE TRIBBETT

Hey, if he did it before, he can do it again
Hey, if he did it before, he can do it again
1, 2, 1, 2, 1, 2, 3, go

I won’t give in, no I’m not gonna turn around, yeah
I know I’ll win, if I don’t give up now
I am waiting for my change to come in I know
He will come through, this is how I’m so sure

If he did it before, he’d do it again
Same god right now, same god back then
If he did it before, he’d do it again
Same god right now, same god back then

(I’ve got power) I’ve got power, I know I will overcome
Greater is in me, the fight ain’t fair cause I’ve already won
And yes I may fall, may get knocked down to the ground
I know I’ll rise up, this is how I’m so sure

If he did it before, he’d do it again
Same god right now, same god back then
If he did it before, he’d do it again, yeah
Same god right now, same god back then

Please be, encouraged, this is not the first storm you’ve been through
You’ve been through worse, you didn’t come this far just to lose
He knows your needs, so take no thoughts on what you lost
God will restore, and this is how I’m sure

If he did it before, he can do it again
Same god right now, same god back then
If he did it before, he can do it again
Same god right now, same god back then.

He is same God right now
He is, He is same God right now
He is, same God right now

Same God right now
Same God back then
If He did it before,
He can do it again

 

Leave a Reply

