TRUST: You will Keep in Perfect Peace


All over the world, we see conflict happening. Of course, there is the conflict that we hear about in the Middle East. In the U.S., we hear of the conflicts revolving around politics, race and religion. In my school, I have met with students this week about their desire to have peace because of conflicts with best friends, teachers, and death in their families. One of the most desired yet elusive experiences is peace. This is why I am posting TRUST: You will Keep in Perfect Peace. 

What exactly is peace? How does one obtain it? Where is it found? For me, I have to go to the Word of God to establish the definition. In our text today, Isaiah 26:3, the Word says,

You will keep in perfect peace
    those whose minds are steadfast,
    because they trust in you. NIV
You will keep him in perfect peace,
Whose mind is stayed on You,
Because he trusts in You. NKJV

First, we learn that peace is not ours to possess but it is given by God. The you in the text is God. We learn this by reading earlier in the passage. In fact, we see there is a conditional promise of peace extended to man. God will keep us in peace. Not just peace, but perfect peace.

The Hebrew word for peace used here is shalowm (shä·lōm’) which means quiet, tranquillity, contentment. It does not mean the absence of hardship, trials or difficulties. It is a state of mind that supersedes fear, anxiety and worry. We know that is true from Philippians 4:6-7 as well as other examples in scripture where people were under seige; yet, they were at peace in the midst of being attacked whether physically, emotionally or ideologically. Jesus is the ultimate example of that. 1 Peter 2:22-24 tells us

“He committed no sin,
    and no deceit was found in his mouth.”

23 When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly. 24 “He himself bore our sins” in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; “by his wounds you have been healed.”

If you were to look at the text in Hebrew, perfect peace is actually written shalowm shalowm. It is sense of double peace. It has been said that perfect peace is a place for God to keep us. Peace with people or friends can be taken away by them. As we have already said, peace in the world is not ours to determine, but God says He promises to keep us in shalowm shalowm i.e. perfect peace. TRUST: You will Keep in Perfect Peace

The promise is based on a condition though. What is the condition? That those, anyone, whose mind, way of think, the framework of one’s thinking, is stayed on you. Stayed is to lean, lay, rest, support, put, uphold, lean upon. One of the most poignant examples of this is in Matthew 14 where Jesus is walking on water and Peter asked Him if it is you command me to come to you. Peter began walking on water to Jesus, but he lost his focus as he began looking at the storm around him and not Jesus. When Peter did, he began to sink. He cried out to Jesus again, refocusing, and Jesus immediately reached out to him saving him. Look at Jesus’ reproof of Peter after that. Jesus said, ““You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”” Jesus too was saying TRUST: You will Keep in Perfect Peace.

Do you want to be kept in perfect peace or double peace? God says for you to trust in Him. You should have faith that He will keep not only His promise of peace but you in it. When I thought I had lost a relationship with my wife, God said, “Trust me and obey” The result -perfect peace before I even knew the outcome. When I lost over a third of a million dollars, God said, “Trust me”. The result – perfect peace. When I was told that my cholesterol was so bad that I might die, God said, “Trust me”. The result – perfect peace and still here with a healthy heart 15 years later. When my wife miscarried several times and the hope of children seemingly with those, God said, “Trust me.” The result – perfect peace and the blessing of two children later. When I lost my job, God said “Trust me.” The result – perfect peace – many encouraged in their faith because I trusted in God. They saw my peace. The result – more time with my kids and wife, a teaching job where my students had high growth, and then another administrative job. When my children are going through challenges as adolescents, God said, “Trust me.” The result – perfect peace – I am fasting and praying for them believing that God’s Word is true. He has a plan and a future for them – one to prosper them and not harm them. One that is filled with hope. I am trusting in God with my children because that end has not come, but He has given me His Word, the lives of other saints and my own as proof positive that TRUST: You will Keep in Perfect Peace.

Will you TRUST Him with your life or challenge? If you do, He promises perfect peace. Trust Him and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

