TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy


Over the past few weeks, I have attempted to provide rationale for TRUSTing God. Virtually, all of the reasons have pointed to what God has done in someone else’s life. The passage in Psalm 116 is no different today. It highlights what God did in the psalmist’s life. The difference today is how I am looking at it.

As you read the passage below, overlay the circumstance on your life. In keeping with the theme trust, look in your life to see where TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy has been answered.

Psalm 116

I love the Lord, for he heard my voice;
    he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me,
    I will call on him as long as I live.

The cords of death entangled me,
    the anguish of the grave came over me;
    I was overcome by distress and sorrow.
Then I called on the name of the Lord:
    Lord, save me!”

The Lord is gracious and righteous;
    our God is full of compassion.
The Lord protects the unwary;
    when I was brought low, he saved me.

Return to your rest, my soul,
    for the Lord has been good to you.

For you, Lord, have delivered me from death,
    my eyes from tears,
    my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before the Lord
    in the land of the living.

10 I trusted in the Lord when I said,
    “I am greatly afflicted”;
11 in my alarm I said,
    “Everyone is a liar.”

12 What shall I return to the Lord
    for all his goodness to me?

13 I will lift up the cup of salvation
    and call on the name of the Lord.
14 I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
    in the presence of all his people.

15 Precious in the sight of the Lord
    is the death of his faithful servants.
16 Truly I am your servant, Lord;
    I serve you just as my mother did;
    you have freed me from my chains.

17 I will sacrifice a thank offering to you
    and call on the name of the Lord.
18 I will fulfill my vows to the Lord
    in the presence of all his people,
19 in the courts of the house of the Lord
    in your midst, Jerusalem.

    Praise the Lord.

TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy is the psalmist reason for trusting God. Like the psalmist, I too have cried out to God for mercy. I would be remiss and faineant if I did not recount when God saved my soul. This was the greatest cry for mercy that God responded in my life. I was wondering aimlessly in life. I had no idea why I was here. During my senior year in high school, I said that there had to be more to life than going to college to get a good job to get a good girl, a good house and a good car. It seemed so futile to me. I cried out to God asking Him to show me why I am here. I cried for mercy for a greater purpose than pursuing those things. God did hear my cry, and He answered. He showed me that I was created for His good purpose – to enjoy a personal relationship with Him through Jesus Christ and to share Christ with others that they too may know Jesus as Savior and Lord. God had heard and responded to my cry for mercy. TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy

Another cry for mercy that God heard was when I had allowed greed to cloud my judgment. Rather than giving glory to God for causing the increase in my investing, I became prideful in assuming the credit. I failed to heed God’s directive to ascribe to the Lord the glory due His name. I allowed greed to fuel me. Ultimately, it literally led to me loosing all my money except one dime in my brokerage account. It was enough money that I could have retired. Gone were my plans to build the house of my dreams, to pay off my parents’ mortgage, to establish the foundation of my future children’s college fund. The privilege to not have to work to pay for a home was gone. I had lost everything financially, but God heard my cry for mercy. God heard me acknowledge my sin of pride and greed. He rescued me. He told me I did have a future but not the one I envisioned. He gave me a future – one filled with the greatest wealth ever – intimate knowledge of God working in and through my life. Experiencing a life with and in God is the greatest riches.

There are scores of other instances when God heard my cry for mercy that has caused me to TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy. I want to share one more though. It involves my children. First, God allowed us to have two children – a girl and a boy. Moreover, I believe and am convinced that God allowed us to have children to reproduce after our own kind not just physically but spiritually as well. I am trusting God for the salvation of my children. It is not as though I do not have challenges with them. They, like the rest of us, have their own struggles, but it is my hope and faith that God will establish and build their faith through their cries for mercy. Hallelujah- TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy

The psalmist accurately tells us that his love for God stems or originates out of God’s love for him. God heard his cry for mercy. The psalmist says, “Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.” How does this compare with your desire and efforts to pursue God? Have you resolved to follow God because of He heard your cry for mercy? If not, maybe it because you have not trusted Him. Give God a try. Then you will be able to say, TRUST: He Heard My Cry For Mercy.

Leave a Reply

