Give Thanks to the LORD


Each day  we are blessed with life carries a responsibility. The responsibility is not to make our ancestors, parents or children proud. The responsibility is not to endeavor in what most consider altruistic. Our responsibility is to worship God.

We have a tendency to offer worshipful words, songs, gestures or dances when God does something that we deem in our favor. God deserves our worship period. One friend shared a definition of worship in his studies and presentation to a men’s group I was involved. He said worship is thinking, speaking and acting in ways that convey God’s worth to the world around us. It is highlighting God’s worth. Well, we are woefully inept at that because God is incomprehensible; yet, God calls for us to worship Him.

In 1 Chronicles 15:1–16:43, we see David leading the people in expressing worship because the Ark of the Covenant, a symbol of God’s presence with the Israelites, was recovered. It was a time to celebrate. In John 14:16-18, we know that God conveys that He is present with the follower of Jesus through the Spirit whom He gives to live in us. Emmanuel, God is present with us not in the flesh of Jesus but in the Spirit of Jesus.

1 Chronicles 16:34-35

34 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    his love endures forever.
35 Cry out, “Save us, God our Savior;
    gather us and deliver us from the nations,
that we may give thanks to your holy name,
    and glory in your praise.”

This morning. I am not asking God for anything. I am simply praising God for who He is and what He has done and will do. Join me in worshiping God. He deserves all praise, glory and honor. Join me in reflecting over God’s involvement in your life over the past hour, day, week, month, and year. God has done incredible things in our lives. Let’s celebrate God’s goodness, mercy and grace toward us and man.

Father, I thank you for who you are.

God is

  • a righteous judge.
  • present in the company of the righteous.
  • the Lord.
  • my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
  • our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.
  • the King of all the earth.
  • seated on his holy throne.
  • our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.
  • my help; the Lord is the one who sustains me.
  • for me.

I could go on and on, but that is enough for me to give glory to God and be encouraged in my spirit despite what I am confronted with in my life. God is for me. Hallelujah. If you know Jesus as Lord and Savior, God is for you too. If not, God’s wrath remains on you. Surrender to God, so we all can Give Thanks to the LORD.

Give Thanks. Amen.

Leave a Reply

