Divine Adjective: Preserved (Kept)


In the two previous posts, we have explored two of the three Divine Adjectives mentioned in Jude 1. They are Called and Sanctified. Called referred to more than the general calling of God to man. The Called morphed into meaning those who were chosen/elected by God to receive Salvation. Sanctified explains how the Called have been set apart for God’s purpose or use in demonstrating His grace to mankind.

Now, we return to Jude to explore the remaining Divine Adjective: Preserved (Kept). Of the three Divine Adjectives, Preserved may be the one most easily internalized. I love going to my wife’s hometown because someone there will have some preserves that we can eat for breakfast. Peach, Pear, Strawberry and even Watermelon Rind. As you know, those kind of preserves are fruit that has been boiled with sugar added and canned. It is the canning process that preserves or keeps the jelly fresh even for months. Likewise, in the Divine Adjective: Preserved (Kept) Jude is proclaiming a spiritual preservation. Let’s see the text again.

Jude, a servant of Jesus Christ and a brother of James,
To those who have been called, who are loved in God the Father and kept for Jesus Christ:
Mercy, peace and love be yours in abundance.
Dear friends, although I was very eager to write to you about the salvation we share, I felt compelled to write and urge you to contend for the faith that was once for all entrusted to God’s holy people. For certain individuals whose condemnation was written about long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are ungodly people, who pervert the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord.

The New King James expresses the verse as “To those who are called, sanctified by God the Father, and preserved in Jesus Christ:” For the Called who have been Sanctified, God will preserve or keep them by their faith in Jesus Christ. Rather than try to convince you of what God said, I will simply share what God has said about the Divine Adjective: Preserved (Kept) through His Word. Knowing that God is trustworthy and true, I know that He will do all He has said in His Word. Here is what God says about preserving or keeping the Called/Chosen/Elect.

John 10:27-30
27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life,and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”
Isaiah 66:22
22 “As the new heavens and the new earth that I make will endure before me,” declares the Lord, “so will your name and descendants endure.
John 6:39
39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day.
John 17:12
12 While I was with them, I protected them and kept them safe by that name you gave me. None has been lost except the one doomed to destruction so that Scripture would be fulfilled.
John 18:9
This happened so that the words he had spoken would be fulfilled: “I have not lost one of those you gave me.”
1 Peter 1:5
who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.
Philippians 1:6
being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
Psalm 138:8
The Lord will vindicate me;
    your love, Lord, endures forever—
    do not abandon the works of your hands.
1 Corinthians 1:8
He will also keep you firm to the end, so that you will be blameless on the day of our Lord Jesus Christ.

I am not sure about you, but I am fired up at reading the promises God made about Preserving/Keeping me. There is so much evidence there. The last verse says He will keep you firm to the end. The end being the day of our Lord Jesus Christ’s return. God will not only keep me, but all those who have authentically called and lived in Him as Lord and Savior. I am shield by God’s power. I can have confidence in this Preserving because of the character of God. Philippians 1:6 tells me that He will complete the work in my life to Sanctify me because I have been Called

In John 10, Jesus Himself tells us “27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”” Eternal life is given by Jesus and we are kept by being in His hand and the power of His Father. Since God is Almighty, there is no one who can snatch the Called/Chosen/Elect out of Jesus’ hand.

Hallelujah!!! In Christ, we are secure. Our salvation is secure. We will arrive at our destination because of the Divine Adjective: Preserved (Kept). Amen.

Leave a Reply

