Christmas is Gone. Now What?


I have opened my gifts and been surprised and disappointed. I have eaten my favorite foods and had my fill. I may have even gone to a place or two for entertainment. Christmas is Gone. Now What? That may be a familiar thought for many people. It is reflective of those who view Christmas an event but not a reflection of life even life itself.

Christmas is Gone. Now What? That thought will never be the position of one who is truly engaged with Jesus the Christ. He was King before time began. He was King, despite His humanity, when He walked this Earth. He is King as He sits at the right hand of the Father, but His Kingship and Kingdom will be consummated upon His return. Christmas is Gone. Now What? Since Jesus is King, the answer to the now what is that He remains King in our lives. We do not have to wait until the new year to enact a new thought, word or action. We can decide today to agree that Jesus is King and live in light of that fact.

Christmas is Gone. Now What? Live in a manner worthy of the gospel. This is what we should have been doing before Christmas. We certainly need to abide in it after reflecting on the Savior’s birth. Paul, in his letter to the Philippians, captures a similar position. He was trying to come see the Philippians as a means to celebrate their partnership in the gospel and support of Him. He was not sure whether he’d get to see them, so he provided this encouragement.

27 Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in the one Spirit,[e] striving together as one for the faith of the gospel28 without being frightened in any way by those who oppose you. This is a sign to them that they will be destroyed, but that you will be saved—and that by God. 29 For it has been granted to you on behalf of Christ not only to believe in him, but also to suffer for him,30 since you are going through the same struggle you saw I had, and now hear that I still have.

The difference for us in regards to Jesus is that we know He is coming back or coming again.

John 14:2-4
My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”
John 14:18
I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.
John 14:28
“You heard me say, ‘I am going away and I am coming back to you.’ If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.
Matthew 16:27
For the Son of Man is going to come in his Father’s glory with his angels, and then he will…

Jesus conveyed to the disciples about His return for the believers. He came back immediately after His ascension through the Spirit of God or the Holy Spirit. Jesus was really talking about His return in the rapture, His second coming to take those who have trusted in Him as Savior to be with God. We see this in 1 Thessalonians 4:13–23 and 1 Corinthians 15:50–54.

Since we know that Jesus will return again for the rapture, how much more should we heed Paul’s encouragement to the Philippians to live a life worthy of the gospel.

We see Paul’s position to the Philippians is consistent as he writes to other churches.

 Ephesians 4:1
As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.

Colossians 1:9-11
For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you.We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,[a] 10 so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience,

1 Thessalonians 2:11-12
11 For you know that we dealt with each of you as a father deals with his own children,12 encouraging, comforting and urging you to live lives worthy of God, who calls you into his kingdom and glory.

2 Thessalonians 1:5-12
All this is evidence that God’s judgment is right, and as a result you will be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you are suffering. God is just: He will pay back trouble to those who trouble you and give relief to you who are troubled, and to us as well. This will happen when the Lord Jesus is revealed from heaven in blazing fire with his powerful angels. He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of his might 10 on the day he comes to be glorified in his holy people and to be marveled at among all those who have believed. This includes you, because you believed our testimony to you.

11 With this in mind, we constantly pray for you, that our God may make you worthy of his calling, and that by his power he may bring to fruition your every desire for goodness and your every deed prompted by faith. 12 We pray this so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Christmas is Gone. Now What? Jesus expects us to live a life worthy of His birth, death and resurrectionThis means that we must forsake ourselves and live for Jesus just as He forsook His glory, in part, and lived for us. The Creator became the created and lived subject to His creation for the redemption of man. Again, Paul captures and answers Christmas is Gone. Now What? in Galatians 2:20 which says, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” 1 Peter 2:24 says, “24 “He himself bore our sins” in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; “by his wounds you have been healed.””

Christmas is Gone. Now What? Live for Jesus, that’s what.

 

Leave a Reply

