Whose Got Your Back?


As a child, my brother or friends would often tell me “I got your back.” In this case, the Urban Dictionary correctly captures the essence of its meaning. It is an “expression assuring someone that you are watching out for them. Comes from making sure you are safe by watching what’s behind you when you’re busy looking ahead.” The popularity of this phrase in our lexicon has a reach beyond my childhood. T.I., a rap artist, made a song about the notion of having his love, a woman, look out for him. In the song, he expresses his appreciation for her commitment for his welfare.

The notion causes me to ask Whose Got Your Back? While we may have wives, brothers, or friends who look out for us, they have limits that restrict how much they are able to look out for me. Fortunately for me, the question has been answered in the Word of God. Psalm 91 tells us 

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High
    will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
    my God, in whom I trust.”

Surely he will save you
    from the fowler’s snare
    and from the deadly pestilence.

This passage conveys that whoever, noting it is available to anyone, dwells in the shelter of the Most High has God’s protection and caring. How does one come to dwell in the shelter of the Most High, that is the Almighty God? Again, we go to the Word of God to answer the question raised in the Word of God. Psalms 34 tells us the answer to Whose Got Your Back?  The answer is God if certain conditions are met.

I sought the Lord, and he answered me;
    he delivered me from all my fears.
Those who look to him are radiant;
    their faces are never covered with shame.
This poor man called, and the Lord heard him;
    he saved him out of all his troubles.
The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him,
    and he delivers them.

The conditions that have to be met for God to answer Whose Got Your Back are:

  1. You seek Him.
  2. You look to Him i.e. trust and rely on Him first before anyone/anything
  3. You call upon Him especially in trouble
  4. You fear, revere or respect, Him

When we meet those conditions, God promises to get our back. Listen to the results God promises the one who seeks, looks, calls and fears Him.

  1. He answers
  2. He delivers
  3. He becomes radiant after once being gloomy
  4. He avoids shame
  5. He saves from all trouble
  6. He encamps i.e. sets up shelter or dwelling around us
  7. He delivers

Deliver is stated twice in this short number of verse to underscore what happens to the one who looks to God.

I am not sure what you are facing now. Like me, it could be the welfare and future of your children. It could be relational with a spouse or family member. It could be health related. May be, your challenge is financial. It could be having wisdom in making a decision. Regardless, we all have to answer the question of Whose Got Your Back. 

Since I have trusted in Jesus, the Word of God promises that Jesus has my back. He is in charge of many angels and commands them to care for my family and for me. I am not sure what today holds for me. I may wake up tomorrow just as I did today; I may wake up with drastic impacts to my life, or I may not wake up at all. In either case, God has promised that I am secure because I have trusted in Him.

I don’t rap but my song is in the words on this blog. I trust that my anthem to God is heard and received by you.

Whose Got Your Back ?

 

Leave a Reply

