You Don’t Have To Be A Star Baby


Wow. One of my very best friend’s journey led me to write this. Over the past few years, we both have gone through humbling experiences in terms of vocation. He is a gifted football coach. He loves kids and loves God. He had an insatiable desire to develop a team win a state championship. He had been a head coach, but the results on the field did not mirror the results off the field.

Fast forward through many circumstances. He took a job at Allatoona high school not as the head coach or even defensive coordinator but as a position coach. As he and I spoke about Allatoona High football team’s state championship win last night at the Georgia Dome, Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis’ song, You Don’t Have To Be A Star Baby, came to mind.

God quoted a portion of the chorus to me. You Don’t Have To Be A Star Baby to be in my show. In life, we are selfish and self absorb. We want to be the star. We want to shine. We want the spotlight on us. For those who have surrendered their lives to Jesus as Lord and Savior, there is no room for that thinking. Paul expresses that for us in Galatians 2:20 where he says, “20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Emphatically, God is saying you can’t be a star to be in His show. You must be a servant of the Almighty God. I am not sure where you are today, but God’s in Isaiah 55:9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” This is what my friend and I learned over the past year as God has worked out some incredible circumstances in our lives.

God is telling us all You Don’t Have To Be A Star Baby to be in my show. Despite that, by virtue of being in God’s show, we are stars as God works in and on us to display who He is. Read these verses that substantiate that:

“Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.
For Scripture says to Pharaoh: “I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.”
For it seems to me that God has put us apostles on display at the end of the procession, like those condemned to die in the arena. We have been made a spectacle to the whole universe, to angels as well as to human beings.
The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel that displays the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.
For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ
But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life.
We are on display when we are in God’s show. When we love God by showing our obedience, we become stars in His show. You Don’t Have To Be A Star Baby to be in His Show, but you really are a star. Only God’s wisdom confounds that of ours. Just remember, 14 For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Galatians 5:14
Now listen how closely these Marilyn McCoo and Billy Davis’ words align to God’s message to us. My friend, Xarvia Smith, can attest to how You Don’t Have To Be A Star Baby to be in God’s show. My hope is that believe that your yearning to be the star can be satisfied by teaming with God and watching Him work in His plan in your life. Trust me. It is so gratifying.

 

Leave a Reply

