Who’s Your Enemy?


There are many things that are perplexing in life. More specifically, there are some things that are just dumbfounded. Matthew 5:44 states “But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,” The bible is clear on how to treat those who oppose you. It presumes that you are going to treat those you love well. That is the most perplexing thing for me. For years, I have worked with other educators and the children we serve. How is it that I can treat them better than those I claim to love the most. It really makes me ask Who’s Your Enemy?

I am not sure about your, but the people I love the most or should I say deeply are the people whom I get most angry. Unfortunately, I don’t consistently follow Ephesians’ admonition and command “In your anger do not sin”. I get most angry at those I love the most. Who’s Your Enemy? 1 Peter 5, the text I’ve been in for a time now, tells exactly Who’s Your Enemy? Listen

Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

The accuser and liar is our enemy. Furthermore, Ephesians 6:12 tells us “12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Despite that, I too often I am intoxicated by my anger. Be Alert and of Sober Mind is what we are called to be; however, I allow my penchant to be angry to cloud my vision. People perish for a lack of vision. I should be absolutely lucid in knowing Who’s Your Enemy? Hebrews 2:14 states that “Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might break the power of him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil—”

Who’s Your Enemy? Peter could not be any more clear when he says, “Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” Yet, I respond to my kids, wife or other family members with misguided responses. The devil is my enemy not my family or even those who purposefully attempt to harm me. Remember, “our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” The devil is attempting to separate me from God. He does not want me to be one with God, but that is exactly what Jesus prayed. John 17:20-23 says, “20 “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21 that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22 I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one— 23 I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.” I am one with God when I follow Jesus and The Word.

Instead of becoming like Jesus, I become like the devil and am not better than him when I sin rather than following God’s commands as 1 John 3:8 says – “The one who does what is sinful is of the devil, because the devil has been sinning from the beginning. The reason the Son of God appeared was to destroy the devil’s work”. I need to follow Jesus because He came to destroy the devil’s work which is to devour all he can. In devouring man, he keeps us separated from God – that is spiritual death.

Remember Ephesians 6:12, “our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” The devil is attempting to separate us from God. Peter tells us that we must “Resist him, standing firm in the faith, …” We resist the devil as Jesus did – by relying and standing on the Word of God when the devil lies to us. Matthew 4 details how Jesus used the Word of God to stand firm against the devil. If Jesus used the Word, then, any follower should do like wise.

Who’s Your Enemy? The devil not our family, friends or even foes. Read, listen, study, memorize and meditate on the Word, so that we can be alert and sober following the Spirit of God rather than the flesh or lies from the devil.

Leave a Reply

