Why and How You Must be Born Again


In life, there are things you know and things you don’t know. As a small boy, I loved bologna. I liked it more than ham, chicken, hamburger, and bacon. I used to say how much I loved bologna, but I did not know about steak; I did not know about shrimp; I did not know about ribs. When I had my first steak, I was hooked. I loved it. Instantly, it became my favorite meat even shrimp and ribs did not dethrone steak. Then I found there were different cuts of steak – round, flank, flat-iron, sirloin, rib eye, porterhouse, filet mignon and t-bone which is my favorite of all. Imagine a boy loving bologna more than a prime cut of steak.  How in the world could that have happened? Simple, I did not know about steak. It was only until I had been exposed to steak that I could contrast it with bologna.

Similarly as a boy, I did not know Why and How You Must be Born Again. I really did not know about how to live life. I only knew that I was not fulfilled. Sure, there were things that satisfied me, but like an empty stomach after a filling meal, satisfaction did not last. It was always a pursuit of one of those satisfying things. For me, that seamed meaningless, purposeless and futile. Like with the steak, I did not know what was better. In biblical terms, Nicodemus was like me. He knew that something was better, but he had not been exposed to what was best. Consequently, he asked Jesus. In John 3, Nicodemus came to Jesus for answers. Let’s listen in

Now there was a Pharisee, a man named Nicodemus who was a member of the Jewish ruling council. He came to Jesus at night and said, “Rabbi, we know that you are a teacher who has come from God. For no one could perform the signs you are doing if God were not with him.” Jesus replied, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.” “How can someone be born when they are old?” Nicodemus asked. “Surely they cannot enter a second time into their mother’s womb to be born!”

As Jesus points out, Nicodemus, even though he was a teacher of their scriptures, did not know about the deep spiritual truths. He too needed to know Why and How You Must be Born Again. Like a loving parent, Jesus told Nicodemus how to be born again. He said, “14 Just as Moses lifted up the snake in the wilderness, so the Son of Man must be lifted up, 15 that everyone who believes may have eternal life in him.”16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. 19 This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but people loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil. 20 Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that their deeds will be exposed. 21 But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what they have done has been done in the sight of God.”

As a disciple, Peter knew Why and How You Must be Born Again. He was engaged God’s elect or pilgrims in he provinces of Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia and Bithynia. For those who had born again, Peter told them how they had been born again.

1 Peter 1

22 Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for each other, love one another deeply, from the heart. 23 For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God. 24 For,

“All people are like grass,
    and all their glory is like the flowers of the field;
the grass withers and the flowers fall,
25     but the word of the Lord endures forever.”

And this is the word that was preached to you.

Peter says, ” 23 For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God.” Every one who will be born again will come to be through the living and enduring word of God.

Nicodemus and I both had Jesus to engage us in becoming born again. Have you heard Jesus, through the Holy Spirit, ask you are you born again. Please know that Jesus says, “Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.” You must surrender yourself to Jesus if you want to be born again. His Word, the bible, will lead you to eternal life. If you do not want to be condemned, you must learn and apply the Why and How You Must be Born Again.

Leave a Reply

