From Where Do You Expect Your Help?


I have been thinking about the memory verse, Psalm 121:1-2, for several days now. It was the first of verses from this passage that our church is learning. As I sat in church on Wednesday night, God asked me From Where Do You Expect Your Help? Of course, it was a rhetorical question because He already knew the answer. That’s what God does. He asks us things to awaken our consciousness to the truth and our response to it. In John 17:17, Jesus said, “your word is truth.” God is always moving us toward adherence to His Word. His goal for those who call Christ Lord and Savior is conformity with the purpose of his will. His will is for us to be conformed to the image of his Son, Jesus.

How does Psalm 121:1-2 answer the question From Where Do You Expect Your Help? Listen and hear the Word of the God.

I will lift up my eyes to the hills—
From whence comes my help?
My help comes from the Lord,
Who made heaven and earth. (NKJV)

Simply put, God challenged me with why I am most often frustrated, angry and disappointed. He shared with me that I put people, specifically those I love the most, at the center of my expectation for help. Throughout the scriptures, God is clear that He is our help. Psalm 46 is one passage that has always been a favorite of mine. Let me give you a taste of it.

God is our refuge and strength,
    an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
    and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
    and the mountains quake with their surging

If we really think about, when is our life not full of trouble or where trouble is lurking to get us. For me, I say never; therefore, it gives reason and makes sense that God is an ever-present help. I am asking you like God asked me From Where Do You Expect Your Help? We should consider God. Listen to Deuteronomy 33:26-29

26 “There is no one like the God of Jeshurun,
    who rides across the heavens to help you
    and on the clouds in his majesty.
27 The eternal God is your refuge,
    and underneath are the everlasting arms.
He will drive out your enemies before you,
    saying, ‘Destroy them!’
28 So Israel will live in safety;
    Jacob will dwell[f] secure
in a land of grain and new wine,
    where the heavens drop dew.
29 Blessed are you, Israel!
    Who is like you,
    a people saved by the Lord?
He is your shield and helper
    and your glorious sword.
Your enemies will cower before you,
    and you will tread on their heights.”

For those who have trusted Jesus as Lord and Savior, we too are Israel. 2 Corinthians 1:20-22 says For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.  I ask again, From Where Do You Expect Your Help?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

