My Light Fills the Room


I want to share with you that I have been a little off-center over the past four days or so. While there were days that I had my quiet time/devotion, there were days that I did not. I was working in the morning. Every time we take on a new role, we become a novice. There are no plans for me to alter, but I must build everything I must do. It is taking time; however, I was robbing God, you and myself. After one day, I knew that I was missing my time with the Lord. I missed hearing His voice. I missed seeing Him work in His Word. I missed Him. My Light Fills the Room.

As I awakened today, the message from God was the same. God told me to not start on anything else before I spent time with Him this morning. He said, “Spend time with me first.” At church, my pastor, Robert Benson, has been speaking about giving the last two weeks. One verse that he quoted was Proverbs 3:9-10 which says, “Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine.” In regards to an offering, the idea is that God receives first fruits of the first harvest. Translation – give to God before anything or anyone else. We tend to think of giving in terms of money; however, God wants our heart, mind, soul and strength. He wants our time to build our relationship with Him. As I walked into the den of the house that God gave me and has kept me in despite loosing over a third of my income, I had to turn on the light on the steps that lead downstairs in order to plug in my cord for my computer. I need the power to run my computer. God is the power for my life, for my soul. When I turned on the light on the stairs, the light filled the room of the den. I could see where the prongs of the outlet were once the light filled the room. Immediately, God said, “My Light Fills the Room“.

In John 8:12, Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” Was I truly following Him? Was I putting my work before the Lord? Yes! It was unfortunate, but it was true. Jesus said it then; He is saying it now – “My Light Fills the Room” of your life, or your heart. Likewise, God has said to His followers“You are the light of the world.”… He also says, “In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”(Matthew 5:14-16)

As you know, we have been in John 15 for several weeks. Jesus said, ““I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.” Remaining in Him requires me to obey Him. He commands His followers to give Him first fruits of their hearts, soul, mind and strength. If I was not spending time exactly as He commands, His Words “My Light Fills the Room” were not exactly being realized in my life.

This is what I love so much about God. He teaches, rebukes, corrects and trains in righteousness (2 Timothy 3:16). We know from John 15 that He is the power source. His Word illuminates the darkness of our hearts and minds. It then is incumbent upon us to choose to follow Him in obedience or to keep going in disobedience. I could not continue this morning trying to make sure my lesson for my students were refined. God told me the greatest lesson is to follow Him, to spend time with Him hearing from Him how to live my life today. I needed to know how to let my light shine. It starts with removing the lamp shade of being too busy to consistently spend time with God in Word and in prayer. By failing to do so, I prevent God from saying to me and to others through me My Light Fills the Room.

At 2:30 in the morning today, it was almost completely dark in the house. When I turned on the light on the stairway, the light filled the stairway as well as in the den. I could see how to plug in my cord to my computer to power it up. God’s Word is not only the Light that fills the Room; it is also the source of our life. Without His Word, we fail to hear from God. For the Word of God says in Hebrews 1:1-3a that “In the past God spoke to our ancestors through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom also he made the universe. The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.

If we want to be sustained, we must spend time in God’s Word. We must read it, hear it, memorize it, meditate on it, and study it. I had failed to consistently do that over the past few days. Thank God for His direction and correction. For this morning, God has fulfilled in me what He said,My Light Fills the Room” God is saying to us through the Prophet Nehemiah (9:11-13) “11 You divided the sea before them, so that they passed through it on dry ground, but you hurled their pursuers into the depths, like a stone into mighty waters. 12 By day you led them with a pillar of cloud, and by night with a pillar of fire to give them light on the way they were to take.13 “You came down on Mount Sinai; you spoke to them from heaven. You gave them regulations and laws that are just and right, and decrees and commands that are good.” God has taken extreme measures to purchase our freedom. Let us not forsake that by failing to walk in the light of His love and Word.

Leave a Reply

