You Did Not Choose Me


I was supposed to address why God chose us, but I continued to think on “I chose you”. In Christendom, we, unknowingly, assume credit for things that we shouldn’t. We unknowingly grab for God’s glory. Let me give you an example. We will pray for something either for someone or for ourselves. God will answer the prayer, and we are excited about the answer. We start telling people “I prayed for that”, “I asked God to…”, “I went into my closet” or I laid prostrate before the Lord (me)” Likewise, we assume too much credit when we come to Christ. We say stuff like “I gave my life to Christ”, “I decided to get saved”, “I just saw all God showed me, so I gave my life to Christ” or “It was like the preacher was speaking to me, so I gave my life to Christ”. Jesus sets the matter straight. He says, “You Did Not Choose Me“.

John 15.

12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. 17 This is my command: Love each other.

Despite Christ telling us “You Did Not Choose Me“, we persist in thinking we follow God because of a choice we make. The Word of God says “13 When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, 14 having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross” Colossians 2:13-14 Moreover, Jesus had already told the disciples in John 6:44 “No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them, and I will raise them up at the last day.” Furthermore, Jesus says later in John 6 that “63 The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you—they are full of the Spirit and life. 64 Yet there are some of you who do not believe. For Jesus had known from the beginning which of them did not believe and who would betray him.” Lastly, John Calvin was quoted to say “Indeed the Word of God is like the sun, shining upon all those to whom it is proclaimed, but with no effect among the blind. Now, all of us are blind by nature in this respect… Accordingly, it cannot penetrate into our minds unless the Spirit, as the inner teacher, through his illumination makes entry for it.”

It is clear that we are incapable of choosing God unless God first chooses and enables us to respond to Him. As always, Jesus is absolutely right when He says, “You Did Not Choose Me“. If you have been struggling with making the initial decision for Christ, pray that God will enable you to respond to His Word. Pray that you are one of the ones whom Jesus knows who will believe. Jesus knows, but we do not, so it is not futile for us to pray. It is not futile for us to evangelism and love on people. It is not futile for us to investigate or pursue God in our infinitesimal strength. Remember, Jesus said, You Did Not Choose Me, but I Chose You.” Now, we know what God did in choosing us. Maybe tomorrow we can look at why God chose us. Be blessed as you reflect over the great and mighty work of God in us through Christ and the Holy Spirit. 

Leave a Reply

