I Chose You


In the proverbial example of being left out, I think about the scenario of kids on the play ground choosing a team among those looking expectantly at the two captains. The exhilaration of the first person chosen contrasts well with the deflation of the last player chosen. More than that, there are times when the players were not chosen at all. The pain of being chosen last or not all is reflecting on one’s worth. Most internalize their selection status as not worthy.

Romans 3:23 tells us about our worth – “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” We have failed God. We are not worthy of Him as our efforts pales in comparison to God’s glory. We are no where close to the character of God. We sin. God does not. We are imperfect; God is perfect. We are pitiful; God is praiseworthy. Need I go on? It is obvious that we are out of our league in comparison to God. If you still think that we are something, Isaiah 59:2 tells us “But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you, so that he will not hear” Furthermore, Ezekiel 39:23 says, “23 And the nations will know that the people of Israel went into exile for their sin, because they were unfaithful to me. So I hid my face from them and handed them over to their enemies, and they all fell by the sword.”

Those examples of our unworthiness serve as the backdrop for Christ’s comments to the disciples in John 15.

12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. 17 This is my command: Love each other.

I do not want to simplify and minimize such an important doctrine presented in this verse: the doctrine of Election. I want to emphasize the privilege and importance of what Christ said. I Chose YouJesus, as a part of the Godhead, reiterates what He had told them in John 13:18. Though in that passage, it is easy to get lost in the notion that He chose them to be disciples. It is true; however, the chose was made by Jesus that those men would be the ones whom God used to establish the ministry of Jesus as God builds His kingdom through the church. Unlike the playground, Jesus did not chose them because of their worthiness. We know that from Romans 3:23. They, like us, were all unworthy.

Why did He chose them? Why does He say I Chose You? I am laughing right now because the Holy Spirit like an enthusiastic student was telling me the answer to those questions. Hallelujah!!! Imagine that, God speaking to me. He Chose me. The Holy Spirit told me Titus, Titus, tell them Titus’ words from Paul. Titus 3 says,

At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.

God chose them and chooses man because of His mercy. Paul tells us to stop complaining about God’s choice. Romans 9:14-1614 What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all!  For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion. 16 It does not, therefore, depend on human desire or effort, but on God’s mercy.”

God had mercy on the disciples in choosing them. God has had mercy on me in choosing me as a follower of Christ. Consequently, the correct response is love for God expressed through thankfulness and obedience. That is what Christ meant when He told them “Love each other as I have loved you.” I have given you mercy that you did not deserve. Now, give mercy to one another as they do not deserve it, but as my followers, you will do this because I Chose You.

I Chose You. God has chosen me. Has he chosen you? Tomorrow, we will talk about why we were chosen. Today, I will revel in the fact that I have been chosen by God to be on His team. I am on the winning team before the conclusion of the game. The end is already determined. Hallelujah – Praise the Father, praise the Son, praise the Spirit three in one. Give glory to God saints. Give glory to God.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

