Your Joy May Be Complete


“9 “As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love.10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. 11 “These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.John 15:9-11 (NKJV)
“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. John 15:9-11 (NIV)
Jesus told His disciples and future followers to Abide in My Love or Remain in My Love. Imagine God telling you to live in His love. Love is what we all desire, so I am sure that was appealing to them. I know that the appeal of living or dwelling in the love of God is alluring to me. God’s love is the grandest. We all want to be loved. Even the world accepts Abraham Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Maslow’s Belongingness is addresses the human not only desire for love but need to be loved.
As creator, Jesus knows exactly what we, His creation, needs. Consequently, we consistently see Jesus telling the people and His disciples that they need Him. In this passage, Jesus is telling us how to obtain what we need, Him. Jesus said, “If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love,” Abiding in Jesus’ love is driven by our obedience.
Obedience then is the key to experiencing Your Joy May Be Complete. Notice, Joy is in the believer. It is not something that originates outside or is obtained by something external. Joy is an internal dynamic. A dynamic driven by Jesus. More specifically, joy is a by-product of the indwelling God – the living Word and the living Holy Spirit. While the disciples were not aware of what Jesus was saying, we have the benefit of looking backwards in light of the Word of God. We do know that Jesus told the disciples that He would send the Advocate, the Helper when He went to the Father. This is how Your Joy May Be Complete.
Jesus spoke those things to them. It is the Word of Jesus and the Spirit of Jesus that brings joy. The Word reveals to us the beauty of who God is and what He does for those who believe in Him. Moreover, His Spirit produces joy as a fruit of living in the hearts of man. The truth about joy resides in obedience. The truth about obedience is that it springs from one’s love for God. Love is the means to joy. This led Paul to say “12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13
If you love God, you will obey Him and Your Joy May Be Complete.
Leave a Reply

