Is Your Heart A Home For God?


We guard our homes with dogs, horns, elaborate security systems because of the people and possessions contained therein. What that conveys is that we highly value people and possessions. We go to great lengths to protect them, but do we do the same thing with our hearts? Proverbs 4:23 says, “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” It is out  of the heart that we are and do. For the believer, 2 Timothy 1:14 says, “Guard the good deposit that was entrusted to you—guard it with the help of the Holy Spirit who lives in us.” This is the only course of action for evaluating Is Your Heart A Home for God?

How does one make an accurate and proper assessment of the question Is Your Heart A Home for God? The Word of God tells us exactly how as He spoke with His disciples especially the one whose heart was not a home for God.

John 14

18 I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. 21 Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”

22 Then Judas (not Judas Iscariot) said, “But, Lord, why do you intend to show yourself to us and not to the world?”

23 Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them. 24 Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.

In verse 18, Jesus promises to send Himself, God, through the Holy Spirit i.e. the Helper/Advocate. This is how God lives in or dwells in the believers of Jesus Christ. When the Spirit of God comes to live in you, Jesus says that you will realize that He is in the Father and that you are in Him and He is in you. What does that mean? It means that you fellowship with God. It means that God, through the promised Holy Spirit, lives in you. Listen to Ephesians 1:13 “And you also were included in Christ when you heard the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation. When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit,” Furthermore, Romans 8:11 states, “And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies because of his Spirit who lives in you.

Is Your Heart A Home for God? Jesus gave us the criteria to make the proper assessment. It is one thing to say yes; it is another to demonstrate that through your obedience. Jesus said it plainly, “21 Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.” For the pretentious, faker and shaker, Judas speaks.

22 Then Judas (not Judas Iscariot) said, “But, Lord, why do you intend to show yourself to us and not to the world?”

23 Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them. 24 Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.

To reiterate the standard for which He judges, Jesus restates the standard. Jesus provides order and concurrence by telling Judas that those words are from the Father, His Father. Similarly, we are given the same standard in answering the question Is Your Heart A Home for God? 

I am not capable of determining what is in the heart of another person, but Jesus stated that obedience to His teaching is a clear indicator. Paul’s teaching in Romans 8:9 aligns perfectly with what Jesus stated. The Word of God is the standard. Our behavior in accordance to the standard is how the assessment is made.

Where are you? Are your thoughts, words and actions in alignment with the Word of God? Are the teachings of Christ your standard, or do you consistently decide what is the right thing in your life? Is Your Heart A Home for God? If so, are you guarding your heart above all other things? Read the Word and let God inform you whether your obedience is consistent with a believer in Christ.

Leave a Reply

