Helpmate: I Got Your Back


cat got my back
On Sunday, September 28, 2014, the Word of the Day on dictionary.com was helpmate. Dictionary.com defines helpmate as

1. a companion and helper.
2. a spouse.
3. anything that aids or assists, especially regularly
The word of the day reminded me of this picture my wife taped to the mirror above my sink on Saturday. When I went into the bathroom, that is the image and the words that I saw. In human terms, it epitomizes what we think of when one says I got your back. I was just moved. There is nothing like knowing in your innermost being that another person has your back. According to the Urban dictionary, got your back is an expression assuring someone that you are watching out for them. Comes from making sure you are safe by watching what’s behind you when you’re busy looking ahead.
We all want to cared for and looked out for especially when harm abounds. While I was moved by my wife’s commitment, my helpmate, the term helpmate entered the English lexicon in the early 1700’s from the Middle English construction helpmeet which was used in The Wycliffe Bible. The term is a translation of Genesis 2:18

Genesis 2:18 King James Version (KJV)
18 And the Lord God said, It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him an help meet for him.

Genesis 2:18 New King James Version (NKJV)
18 And the Lord God said, “It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.”

Genesis 2:18 New International Version (NIV)
18 The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

Proverbs 18:22 (NIV) says, “He who finds a wife finds what is good and receives favor from the Lord.” I don’t think anyone who has received a woman of God as a wife and is growing in his understanding of that would contend with this verse. I know that I am growing in my appreciation of my wife. When I was going through a tough situation recently, she told me “I got your back.” It was comforting to hear that comment.
Despite the depth of love my wife has for me, there is another who has a greater comfort for me. There is one who has a greater love for me. There is one who is a greater Helper for me. Who is that one? John 14:16-17 tells us that the one is the Advocate, the Comforter, the Helper, the Spirit of Truth. All those names refer to the The Holy Spirit who is the third person of the Trinity or Godhead. The word in the Greek is paraklētos (pä-rä’-klā-tos) which means one who pleads another’s cause before a judge, a pleader, counsel for defense, legal assistant, an advocate; in the widest sense, a helper, succourer, aider, assistant. Jesus told His disciples that He would not leave them as orphans when He went away. He would send their Helper.
15 “If you love me, keep my commands. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you. 18 I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.

Isn’t it comforting to know that we are not alone. More importantly, it is assuring to know that God is not only with me, but He lives in me through the Holy Spirit. This is true for every believer or person who has surrendered his life to Jesus as Savior and Lord. See verse 17 above as well as Romans 8:11 “And if the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies because of his Spirit who lives in you.”

Now if that is not an assurance that someone, God, is watching out for you, what is? God has given me a wife who has my back, and He has given me Himself who is watching over both our backs. He leads, guides and protects us. Next time you are in a situation, reflect on the fact that you have a Helpmate: I Got Your Back.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

