I am in the Father and the Father is in Me


There are many ideas, theories, truths that we accept in life even though we do not fully understand them. For example, we all accept the reality of gravity. Conceptionally, we get the idea of the pull of the earth on us, so we don’t float away as one would in space, but do we really understand. Air is gas that consists of free molecules in the ratio of about 78% nitrogen, 21% oxygen, 0.3% carbon dioxide and traces of helium, neon, other gases and water vapor. There are also contaminants which are described as: Solid, Germ & Gas Phase Contaminants. Theoretically, we accept the idea that our bodies breath in air taking in the oxygen that we need and not ingesting or using the other components in air. Doctrinally, the notion of the Holy Trinity is presented throughout scripture, but many do not accept it as we do presented knowledge on gravity and air.

In John 14, we see Jesus’ continuing to assert trinitarian views. All along, Jesus has made statements that support the Trinity – one God in three persons: God The Father, God The Son, and God The Holy Spirit. According to the Reformation Study Bible, Jesus’ statement of “I am in the Father and the Father is in me” is the reciprocal indwelling announced in 10:38 and developed here, also in v. 20, and again in 17:21. Three great unities are proclaimed in Scripture: the unity of the three Persons of the Trinity; the unity of the divine and human natures of Christ; and the unity of Christ and His people in redemption.

John 14

If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. 11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves.

Just as Jesus called Philip to believe minimally in the works He had done, Jesus is calling us to do the same; however, the optimal belief trigger is because Jesus said it Himself. Jesus wanted Philip to believe that He was in the Father and the Father was in Him because He said it. When Philip did not, Jesus told him to at least examine the work that He had done which evidences that He is God Almighty. As a reminder, Jesus had changed water to wine, open the eyes of the blind, feed five thousand and raised the dead to life. Jesus was asking Philip and the disciples to believe in Him. He wanted them to consider what He had done and said about Himself.

I AM the Way, Truth and Life (John 14:1-7)

I AM the Resurrection and the Life (John 11:1-44)

I AM the Good Shepherd (John 10:1-18)

I AM the Door (John 10:1-9)

I AM the Light of the World (John 8:12-18; 25-30)

I AM the Bread of Life (John 6:25-35; 48-59)

In those statements, Jesus reveals more about who He is on the way to the climax of His earthly existence the crucifixion and the resurrection. Jesus began conveying to His disciples who He is in efforts to prepare them for their roles in carrying forth the Gospel. In those acts and in those statements, Jesus was saying believe in Me.

He is calling us to believe in Him too. We have those things, the rest of the Word and the testimony of what He has done in our lives and in the lives of others we know. When Jesus says “I am in the Father and the Father is in me“, He wants us to believe that He is God. When we falter in our faith, Jesus wants us to defer to the work He has done. If you are a believer, you too are a part of that work. God wants us to acknowledge the work that He has done in very own lives to propel us to greater faith in Him.

We know that it is impossible to please God without faith. Since that is the case, Jesus was calling the disciples to believe. He is calling us to believe that He and the Father are one, that He and the Spirit are one, that the Spirit and the Father are one. Jesus is asking you do you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me?

Do you? Everything about faith in Christ hinges on what you believe about Him. If you do not believe that He is God, your faith in Christ is flawed and fruitless. David Guzik says, “No image or material likeness could depict God, but a person could – the person of Jesus… This forever finishes the idea some people have that there is a “bad God” in the Old Testament that Jesus somehow calmed down and made nice so we could be saved. If you want to know what God the Father is like, look at Jesus – the same love, compassion, mercy, and goodness which is evident in Jesus is evident in God the Father. Exodus 34:5-9, among other passages, shows this nature of God the Father in the Old Testament.”

Jesus said, “I am in the Father and the Father is in me.” Do you believe?

Leave a Reply

