Do You Really Know Me?


Over the years, I have often heard it is not what you know, but who you know. As time went on, that adage was revised to  it’s not who you know, but who knows you. In this world, I have seen man make room for me because man knows me. Let’s face it, people benefit from relationships that they have with others. Right or wrong, fair or not fair, the reality exists that some benefit not because they are better but because of relationship – knowing. I have often stated that the physical often imitates the spiritual. In John 14, Jesus continues His questioning of man’s knowledge of Him.  If you follow Jesus through the book of John, Jesus makes knowing Him a central and pivotal issue. Throughout the book, I hear Jesus saying Do You Really Know Me?

For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am the Messiah,’ and will deceive many.
Many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am he,’ and will deceive many.
He replied: “Watch out that you are not deceived. For many will come in my name, claiming, ‘I am he,’ and, ‘The time is near.’ Do not follow them.
Remember, Jesus predicted His betrayal in John 13:18-20. There He says, “I am not referring to all of you; I know those I have chosen. 19 “I am telling you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe that I am who I am. 20 Very truly I tell you, whoever accepts anyone I send accepts me; and whoever accepts me accepts the one who sent me.” He gave them evidence to know and follow Him, but the issue still remains Do You Really Know Me?
Now in John 14, we see Jesus adding to theme of knowing Him. Here is where Jesus questions the disciples knowledge of Him and answers that question as well. Remember the context of the statement below. Jesus had told them that He was going away, but that the disciples could not follow Him now. Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

Do You Really Know Me? Jesus answers that question for the disciples save Judas whom He had foretold would betray Him. Now, Jesus is telling the disciples that if they know Him, they also know God The Father and have seen Him. Here Jesus claims a clear as day to be God. He poignantly told the disciples that He was God. By virtue of saying that if they had seen Him they had seen the Father, Jesus claims to be both Jesus, the Messiah, and God. The second person of the Godhead has pronounced it. Later in the chapter (v.26), Jesus closes the triune circle when He speaks of the Advocate, the Holy Spirit.

It is well worth answering question Do You Really Know Me? Jesus made the distinction for the twelve disciples. He also makes the distinction for us. He says that if we know Him, we know the Father as well. Do you really know Jesus? Have you made Him Lord and Savior of your life? Jesus invites you to not only know Him but to be known by Him. He shares the consequences of not knowing Him and the benefits of being known by Him in John 10:

“If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.” 25 Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”

Jesus is saying Do You Really Know Me?

Leave a Reply

