Honor in the Hour


When I really need God to do something and time has almost run out for him to provide, I will say to God, “Father, we are in the eleventh hour.” That is the last possible moment for Him to do something before we ask Is The Hour At HandIn the post Is The Hour At Hand?, it was shared that Jesus knew that it was for the purpose of dying that He came. Do we know why we are here? As believers and followers of Christ, Jesus clarifies our purpose for us in John 12. Our lives are not our own. Jesus says that we must lose our lives in order to gain it just as He lost His life to give us eternal life. We must honor God more than honoring ourselves.

Let’s face it, many people, including Jesus, have been measured or defined in the The Hour At Hand. The mere fact that we are still discussing Jesus’ response in the hour at hand illustrates how important our response is to God. What we do know is that Jesus was committed to the Father in a time of sacrifice, struggle and stress. Jesus demonstrated Honor in the Hour. Are we willing to evidence such commitment to the Father when the circumstance calls for sacrifice, struggle and stress?

Let’s see what Jesus said in John 12.

23 Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. 24 Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. 25 Anyone who loves their life will lose it, while anyone who hates their life in this world will keep it for eternal life. 26 Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me. 27 Now my soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour. 28 Father, glorify your name!” Then a voice came from heaven, “I have glorified it, and will glorify it again.”29 The crowd that was there and heard it said it had thundered; others said an angel had spoken to him.

How was Jesus able to give Honor in the Hour to God? How was He able not to retreat and seek what was best for Him? The key is shared in verses 27-28. First, Jesus said, “Now my soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour.” Jesus acknowledge the truth about His emotional/mental estate. It is okay for us to acknowledge to God, even others, that we would rather not endure hardships. Dah! Who really does? What is more important is not just acknowledging it but not yielding to ourselves. Jesus realized His purpose and to whom He was committed. Jesus said it was this very reason I came to this hour. This was a choice. Jesus willingly came to this hour. Let me remind us of what Jesus said in John 10:18 – “…No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.” Jesus chose this moment in honor and obedience to the Father. It was a part of their plan.

We are not a part of the God-head; yet, we have the same privilege of entrusting the Father with our lives, with our contribution to the kingdom. Our contribution comes as a cost – personal loss. We see parents on a regular basis sacrifice or suffer personal loss for their children. My wife has given the last twelve years of her life to the rearing of our children – a long Honor in the Hour. She relinquished a career, some financial freedom, some relational development and many other things for the sake of her children. How did she do that without bitterness? She frequently focuses on the privilege and benefit of participating in the building of the kingdom of God. Like Jesus, she has benefitted the kingdom. Both of our children have professed faith in Jesus as the Son of God, Savior and Lord. While that is no indication of what choices they will make as they get older, it gives us both a greater hope that their salvation will lead to a partnership in the Gospel of Jesus Christ until the day of completion.

As with Jesus, we can say that God glorified His name and Himself with the salvation of our children. God’s glory is the end game for Him. It is the ultimate goal of all He does in, on and through us. God wants to bring glory to Himself through man. Our acceptance of that role should help us display Honor in the Hour. Are you willing to forsake yourself to evidence Honor in the Hour? If not, you should consider Jesus who, after honoring God, was honored by God. In this chapter, Jesus says, “26 Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.” Do you want to be honored by God? Serve Jesus by displaying  Honor in the Hour.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

