Jesus declares He is God


In the post If You are the Messiah, tell us plainly, Jesus tells the people who He is and , again, tells the people that He is God. When Jesus says (v30) “I and the Father are one”,  Jesus made another claim to be God. Some today say that this oneness is only in regards to unity of purpose and will. If we read the text, that is not what the Jews to whom Jesus was speaking perceived.

John 10

22 Then came the Festival of Dedication at Jerusalem. It was winter,23 and Jesus was in the temple courts walking in Solomon’s Colonnade. 24 The Jews who were there gathered around him, saying, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.”

25 Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”

31 Again his Jewish opponents picked up stones to stone him, 32 but Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many good works from the Father. For which of these do you stone me?”

33 “We are not stoning you for any good work,” they replied, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.”

34 Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I have said you are “gods”’? 35 If he called them ‘gods,’ to whom the word of God came—and Scripture cannot be set aside— 36 what about the one whom the Father set apart as his very own and sent into the world? Why then do you accuse me of blasphemy because I said, ‘I am God’s Son’? 37 Do not believe me unless I do the works of my Father. 38 But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in the Father.” 39 Again they tried to seize him,but he escaped their grasp.

What is it that the Jews perceived Jesus to be saying? They say it quite clearly in verse 33 – “We are not stoning you for any good work,” they replied, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.” To claim to be God was blasphemy (nawab) that is to curse the name of God. For the Jews, it was established that whomever blasphemed were to be stoned to death. By response, in word and attempted deed, it is clear that the Jews understood Jesus declares He is God.

Fortunately for man, Jesus provides support for His claim. First Jesus holds them to their “law”. He used the Word against them. We see the metaphorical reference to judges as “gods” that Jesus uses as an example in verses 34-35. Jesus references the judges of Old Testament who were certainly identified as inept and not righteous. In Psalm 82, the psalmist references the imperfection of the judges; yet, the fact that the people trusted and followed their judgements. Jesus is juxtaposing imperfect and unrighteous judges with Himself, the one whom the Father set apart as his very own and sent into the world.  Jesus reminds them that scripture can’t be set aside. If they were going to follow one part of the scripture, they needed to follow it all. Beyond that, Jesus references again His work that serves as evidence that He is from God. We saw Jesus reference the works i.e.miracles in verse 25 where He says, “The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me”.

Throughout the scriptures, Jesus declares He is God. Jesus calls us all to look at His works that He did in the Father’s name not His or anyone else’s. Will you stone Jesus with your unbelief or will you be like the Jews in John 10 who discarded Him as Savior and Lord?

Leave a Reply

