What Are You Teaching?


A number of years ago, I heard one of my favorite Atlanta Falcons speak. His name is Wallace Francis. As a native Atlantan and avid Falcons fan, I was delighted to hear him speak, but he did not speak about being a football player or athlete. He spoke about being a follower of Jesus Christ. On that day, he said something that has resonated with me for all these years. He said, “Let your life speak, love demonstrate and your lips testify.”

Now in our text, John 7, today, Jesus responds to the question, What Are You Teaching? The Jews asked that question among themselves about how Jesus had such teaching without having been taught Himself. Their view of Jesus was completely wrong. They saw Him as simply a man. While He was a man, He was also God incarnate. They did not recognize that He was God, so Jesus responded to their personal inquiry about how He was so learned.

14 Not until halfway through the festival did Jesus go up to the temple courts and begin to teach. 15 The Jews there were amazed and asked, “How did this man get such learning without having been taught?” 16 Jesus answered, My teaching is not my own. It comes from the one who sent me. 17 Anyone who chooses to do the will of God will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own. 18 Whoever speaks on their own does so to gain personal glory, but he who seeks the glory of the one who sent him is a man of truth; there is nothing false about him.

In response to Jesus, the people asked themselves What Are You Teaching? Jesus plainly told the Jews gathered there that His teaching was not His own. His teaching came from the one who sent him. Remember what Jesus told them in John 6, John 5, and John 4 about who sent Him. If not, here is the text:

35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. 36 But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. 37 All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. 38 For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. 39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. 40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”

John 5:19-21; 43 says, “19 Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. 20 For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, and he will show him even greater works than these, so that you will be amazed. 21 For just as the Father raises the dead and gives them life, even so the Son gives life to whom he is pleased to give it...43 I have come in my Father’s name, and you do not accept me; but if someone else comes in his own name, you will accept him.

John 4 says, “22 You Samaritans worship what you do not know; we worship what we do know, for salvation is from the Jews. 23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. 24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.” 25 The woman said, “I know that Messiah” (called Christ) “is coming. When he comes, he will explain everything to us.” 26 Then Jesus declared, “I, the one speaking to you—I am he.”

What Are You Teaching? Jesus message was consistent. He came from the Father to do what the Father had commanded or directed Him to do. As a consequence, all that Jesus taught were things that the Father told Him to teach. What about us? What does our life teach? What does our love teach? What does our lips teach? I hope the answer to those question is all that Jesus taught. If not, we must repent of our sins; confess them to God to receive forgiveness and start anew ensuring that Jesus’ teaching are evidenced in our life, our love and our lips. What Are You Teaching?

Leave a Reply

