Still Looking for Signs


On March 7, 2014, I wrote the post What Sign Can You Show Us. In it I say, “Asking for a sign is not a new phenomena. In some instances, asking for a sign does not convey doubt but direction, but that is not what I am referring to in today’s post. I am referring to when we in our hearts don’t believe and ask God What Sign Can You Show Us.” That was from John 2

Today, we have moved to John 6 and the people are Still Looking for Signs because of doubt not direction. As I have shared, I am moving in a new direction with my present job. I know who God is to me. I am not asking Him for a sign, so I can believe. I am asking for direction in my life. The people in John 6 though do not believe and are asking for a sign because of their doubt of who Jesus is. We can see from Jesus’ response that they don’t know who He is.

29 Jesus answered, “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.”

30 So they asked him, “What sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do? 31 Our ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written: ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.’”

32 Jesus said to them, “Very truly I tell you, it is not Moses who has given you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. 33 For the bread of God is the bread that comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

34 “Sir,” they said, “always give us this bread.”

35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. 36 But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe.

In the verses that preceded verse twenty-nine, Jesus had just told the people they were following Him because of the signs He had performed, feeding 5,000 plus people with 5 loaves and 2 fish. In less than one day and the seeing of that miracle, the people are Still Looking for Signs because of doubt not direction.

Jesus told them the essence of what God wants from man – “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.” Jesus told them to believe in Him, but they did not. They immediately asked Jesus “What sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do? 31 Our ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written: ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.’”

Jesus uses a comparison of what the people esteemed, Moses and manna, to what they really should desire, the Master who is “the true bread from heaven.” Manna feed the people for short time. Jesus says He would feed them to where they would never go hungry and never be thirsty.

Lastly, Jesus condemns their flawed pursuit of Him. He says, ” 36 But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe.” Have you been seeking signs from Jesus because you doubt that He is the Son of God and God incarnate? Have you sought the provided things over the Provider? Are you are Still Looking for Signs because you still do not believe despite the signs already provided to you? Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. Will you come?

 

Leave a Reply

