Boast in This


This past Sunday, the San Francisco 49ers played the Seattle Seahawks. At the end of the game, Richard Sherman was interviewed after making a game saving play. He proclaimed to be the best defensive back in the NFL as well as berating one of his opponents. Mr. Sherman’s pride or boasting has created a media frenzy. No matter the media venue, in news papers, on the internet, on radio and on television, people were talking about how his pride/boasting has colored him and presented him as an unsavory player.

In the post Hopes and Dreams, I wrote “Call me a dreamer. Like many of you, I am sure you have Hopes and Dreams that you would like to see come true.”  I also shared that in our quest to pursue and accomplish our hopes and dreams that we must rely on God remembering that I cannot do it in my own wisdom, strength, or riches. In Jeremiah 29:23-24, we are warned not to boast in what we think we do.

I am sure that Mr. Sherman and all the players and all associated with each team had hopes and dreams entering the game, but one should remember that God calls us to Boast in This23 Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.” (ESV) We are to boast in The Lord.

Psalm 34:2

I will glory in the Lord;
let the afflicted hear and rejoice.

1 Corinthians 1:31

31 Therefore, as it is written: “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.”

2 Corinthians 10:17

17 But, “Let the one who boasts boast in the Lord.”

Galatians 6:14

14 May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

God tells me to Boast in This that He alone is my help. As God promised Israel, He promises me, and if Jesus is the Lord and Savior of your life, He also promises you. He told them in Deuteronomy 33:29

29 Blessed are you, Israel!
Who is like you,
a people saved by the Lord?
He is your shield and helper
and your glorious sword.
Your enemies will cower before you,
and you will tread on their heights.”

This is why I proclaim that I must Boast in This. God is my help even when things look horrible and unjust. God is still in control. He is still sovereign. Boast in This!

To reiterate, I am reminded that I must rely on the Shepherd and Overseer of my soul to accomplish my Hopes and Dreams. If I trust in Him, He has told me “do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” God wants to bless us to glorify Himself. God wants the world to know that He alone is God and apart from Him there is no other savior (Isaiah 43:10-13). Boast in This

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

