Hopes and Dreams


While today’s post is not directly about pride, it is certainly related. Call me a dreamer. Like many of you, I am sure you have Hopes and Dreams that you would like to see come true. I have spent the past six hours reflecting on different Hopes and Dreams. Even when my son awoke this morning and came and laid on me, the prayer I prayed over him reflected my Hopes and Dreams about his character and life.

From my marriage, to my children, to my family, to my health, to my vocation, I have a great number of Hopes and Dreams. I do not want to be prideful in my Hopes and Dreams by relying on other people or even myself. I realize that I am incapable of bringing them to fruition that is why they are Hopes and Dreams. Contrary to what many purport, I cannot speak them into being. I cannot fill the atmosphere with positive thoughts to accomplish them. I cannot do it in my own wisdom, strength, or riches. Praise the Lord that I do not have to as I would be even more full of my self than I already am.

In Jeremiah 29:23-24, 23 This is what the Lord says:

“Let not the wise boast of their wisdom
or the strong boast of their strength
or the rich boast of their riches,
24 but let the one who boasts boast about this:
that they have the understanding to know me,
that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness,
justice and righteousness on earth,
for in these I delight,”
declares the Lord.”

There, God instructs us not to rely on ourselves. He also instructs us not to rely on false gods or idols in Zechariah 10

Ask the Lord for rain
In the time of the latter rain.
The Lord will make flashing clouds;
He will give them showers of rain,
Grass in the field for everyone.

For the idols speak delusion;
The diviners envision lies,
And tell false dreams;
They comfort in vain.
Therefore the people wend their way like sheep;
They are in trouble because there is no shepherd.

“My anger is kindled against the shepherds,
And I will punish the goatherds.
For the Lord of hosts will visit His flock,
The house of Judah,
And will make them as His royal horse in the battle.

In chapter 9, the Hopes and Dreams of the Israelites are redirected and reaffirmed by God. Matthew Henry tells us that “Gracious things and glorious ones, very glorious and very gracious, were promised to this poor afflicted people in the foregoing chapter; now here God intimates to them that he will for these things be enquired of by them, and that he expects they should acknowledge him in all their ways and in all his ways towards them—and not idols that were rivals with him for their respects.” For in chapter 9, the promised savior, Jesus Christ was given again. Ligonier Ministries summarizes this passage as this chapter is a rebuke to the people, and especially the leaders, of Judah for seeking wisdom and advice from idols (v. 2). God’s answer to their waywardness is that He Himself will be their shepherd. As the leader of my life, my household, my workplace, I must rely upon Jehovah to accomplish Hopes and Dreams He has given me.

The Word of God is replete with promises about my life (Jeremiah 29:11-13), my family (Acts 2:38-39) and my vocation (Isaiah 41:8-16 *v10).

“But you, Israel, my servant,
Jacob, whom I have chosen,
you descendants of Abraham my friend,
I took you from the ends of the earth,
from its farthest corners I called you.
I said, ‘You are my servant’;
I have chosen you and have not rejected you.
10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Today, I am reminded that I must rely on the Shepherd and Overseer of my soul to accomplish my Hopes and Dreams. If I trust in Him, He has told me “do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” God wants to bless us to glorify Himself. God wants the world to know that He alone is God and apart from Him there is no other savior (Isaiah 43:10-13).

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

