Patience over Pride: The End of the Matter is Better than its Beginning


Alright, it’s been a few days since my last post on pride, Pride Brings a Person Low. In that post, the order and principles of how God humbles a proud person was presented. Additionally, it was presented how the lowly in spirit gain honor. We all want to gain honor which is to have dignity, distinction, respect/reverence, splendor and glory – experience the glory of God.

In life, there are many circumstances in which we find ourselves that honor appears to be out of reach, out of sight and even out of mind. I am sure you can think of situations where it appeared that nothing seemed to have gone right nor was their end in sight for the ugliness of life. What do we do when life is not lovely? What do we do when life is not pleasant? What do we do when there is nothing in life that urges us to forge forward?

Hallelujah, praise the Lord God Almighty. Jehovah has an answer. In the book of Ecclesiastes, I found my answer. When I discovered this verse, I was over joyed because I was in the midst of a major trial in my life. We learn so much more in hardship and adversity than in peace and prosperity, but I digress. Life had presented some tough circumstances. I was wondering how I would make it. I was wondering how I would come out of that situation.

Like the psalmist said in Psalm 10, I asked “Why, Lord, do you stand far off? Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?” While it seemed that God was hiding, He was right there with me. I was reassured of not only His presence but also His promise when I read Ecclesiastes 7:8.

The end of a matter is better than its beginning,
and patience is better than pride.

Ponder that for a moment. The end is better than the beginning. That statement oozes with hope. It said to me that I have hope. I just need to trust (believe) in God, to trust in Christ as Jesus requests of us in John 14:1.What did I need to trust or believe? That God was in control regardless of how ugly life looked, felt, tasted, or sounded. I needed to believe Patience over Pride: The End of the Matter is Better than its Beginning.God says that patience is better than pride. Why? By being patient, it shows that I fully trusted God’s sovereignty in the matter. I trusted that God was in control and would, in His time and way, handle the matter. I just needed to wait on Him. Pride, on the other hand, says that I am in control and will not wait on God. I must handle the matter myself. If I was that adept at handling the situation, it would not have been disfavorable nor prolonged. I had to remember Proverbs 18:12  which says, “Before a downfall the heart is haughty (proud), but humility comes before honor.” Patience is better than pride because there is a downfall with pride but honor with patience because I was humble enough to trust God. Patience over Pride: The End of the Matter is Better than its Beginning. Which will we choose in our trying situation? Will we become prideful and experience a downfall, or will we exercise patience through your faith in Christ until the end of the matter? God has told us how He expects us to respond. We just need to rely upon Him in that moment that we might respond the right way.
I know not what this day will bring beyond this next keystroke, but I do know that I must choose patience over pride because it is better. Patience over Pride: The End of the Matter is Better than its Beginning.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

