Not Rejected but Redirected


Last week, I posted about the Right Path and Right Perspective. In those posts, I wrote about how we should see like in response to God and His Word. It stemmed from Godly Path + Godly Perspective = God’s Peace. Pretty much everyone I know wants peace. They will pursue or try all sorts of things except for Him who can give us peace – Jesus. Remember what Ephesians 2 says about Jesus and our peace with God. If not, here it is:

11 Therefore, remember that formerly you who are Gentiles by birth and called “uncircumcised” by those who call themselves “the circumcision” (which is done in the body by human hands)— 12 remember that at that time you were separate from Christ, excluded from citizenship in Israel and foreigners to the covenants of the promise, without hope and without God in the world. 13 But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ.

14 For he himself is our peace, who has made the two groups one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, 15 by setting aside in his flesh the law with its commands and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new humanity out of the two, thus making peace, 16 and in one body to reconcile both of them to God through the cross, by which he put to death their hostility. 17 He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near. 18 For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit.

In the spiritual context, Romans 5:10 and Colossians 1:21, remind us that we are separated from God and enemies of God without Christ as the Lord and Savior of our lives. That is why it is so important to surrender to Jesus. Without giving your life to Him, God will require your life and soul for being His enemy (Romans 6:23). While separated from God, we don’t know or follow the Right Path and Right Perspective. In terms of the right path, we are told in Matthew 7:13 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it.”

Do you remember John 3:36? It says, “36 Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 8.41.29 AMwrath remains on them.” If God does not redirect us, we will be rejected for rejecting Him. The impetus for this post today came from a this picture I saw on posted by a friend on Facebook. It reads “As I look back over my life, I realize that every time I thought I was rejected from something good, I was actually being re-directed to something better.” When we have the Right Path and Right Perspective, we can receive that message well.

For me, I know that God is sovereign. That is, He is in control of everything even though it appears that God had “dipped out” on us or disappeared. God’s sovereignty and free will is a whole different discussion, but I know we choose to follow God when He enables to come to Him. When things appear not go right or as if you have been rejected, look to God. Ask Him what His will is for your life. Ask Him what path or direction would you like for me to take now that this has happened.

Let me give you a quick example. While I was in high school, I thought I was the man in regards to football. I had a lot of schools looking at me because of my stats, but when they came to see me, they felt I was too short. God made me that way. It led to them not being interested in giving me a scholarship. The quarter back of the team and I went to Tuskegee for a visit. They offered some money, but the out-of-state fees were too high. It led to me walking-on at West Georgia College. Where they had just begun a ministry for those who wanted to follow Christ. I had just surrendered my life to Christ two weeks before going to football camp. I got trained in the Word of God there. Many of my present and closest friends are from there. I met my wife there. I received additional degrees from there. All because I was Not Rejected but Redirected.

There are blessings in what seems like and feels like rejection (I feel prophecy). God is preventing us from going down the wrong path. He is leading us to the right path. Remember Matthew 7:13-14 13 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Jesus is the narrow gate. Follow Him as you are not Not Rejected but Redirected.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

