On the Firm Foundation


Wow, what an incredible two days I have had this past Thursday and Friday. First, God encouraged me to have my mind right – that is focused on Him. While not all things have been peaches and cream or gone down smoothly, I have experienced love, joy and peace among the other Fruits of the Spirit. The bottom line is that I have lived the past two days On the Firm Foundation.

From days of old, Christ has been that Firm Foundation. We hear God’s proclamation of that in Isaiah 28:1616 So this is what the Sovereign Lord says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a tested stone, a precious cornerstone for a sure foundation; the one who relies on it will never be stricken with panic.” Christ Himself proclaims that He is indeed the one on whom your life should be On the Firm Foundation. Let’s hear what Jesus said in Luke 6

46 “Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say? 47 As for everyone who comes to me and hears my words and puts them into practice, I will show you what they are like. 48 They are like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built. 49 But the one who hears my words and does not put them into practice is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. The moment the torrent struck that house, it collapsed and its destruction was complete.”

Christ draws a parallel or shares an analogy of building a house. The one who builds his house on rock, that is a firm foundation, house stood in times of the flood. In contrast, the one who built his house on the ground without a foundation house collapsed and was destroyed when the torrents struck his house. Like I said, life has not been easy this week, but God has shown me that focusing on Him and His kingdom has provided me complete joy and fulfillment. I have shared Jesus with students and parents alike. I have shared Jesus with my children. More importantly, I have shared Jesus with my own heart and mind. It is that reservoir that most needed filling.

I see the wisdom of what Paul said in 1 Corinthians 3:10-1110 By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as a wise builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should build with care. 11 For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.” When I attempt to focus on my personal wants or outcomes at work, I feel deflated and frustrated. Those are ends with no means whereas Jesus is the means and the ends or the ends and the means to get there. I don’t know if you understand what I am saying or not, but I know that this week has been fabulous because I have really been in touch with God. I have heard Him speaking to me and leading me all week. This is the life of one On the Firm Foundation.

I leave you with more words from the Apostle Paul in relation to establishing a Firm Foundation. In Ephesians 2:18-20, God says that it is in Jesus “18 For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit. 19 Consequently, you are no longer foreigners and strangers, but fellow citizens with God’s people and also members of his household, 20 built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone.” Jesus is the cornerstone of that Firm Foundation, but it is being considered no longer a foreigner and stranger but fellow citizen. It is being included in the family of God that makes me blessed, that fills my soul with joy and peace. I am a citizen of God and a member of His household.

I am standing On the Firm Foundation. How about you? Have you relied on Jesus as Lord and Savior? Have you realized that it is only through Jesus that you are considered right and righteous in the eyes of God? If you lay your life on your intelligence, strength or riches, you will be wiped out when the torrent of God’s accountability strikes your life. On the contrary, we are given insight as to the blessing of the one who trusts in Christ.

Jeremiah 9:23-24

23 Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.”

Stand On the Firm Foundation!

Leave a Reply

