The Joy of Forgiveness


I have written a number of posts on forgiveness, but today’s post is particularly sweet to me. As I was reflecting on I Will Not Yield My Praise to Another. Tamela Mann’s song Take Me to The King came to mind. It was one word in there that made me just ball. The word was faultless. The sweetness comes from the notion found in Jude 1:24-25. “24 To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy— 25 to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.” Faultless will be posted soon.

Today is about The Joy of Forgiveness. I could never be considered Faultless without Forgiveness. Read Psalm 32 which majors on The Joy of Forgiveness.

1 Blessed is the one
whose transgressions are forgiven,
whose sins are covered.
2 Blessed is the one
whose sin the Lord does not count against them
and in whose spirit is no deceit.

3 When I kept silent,
my bones wasted away
through my groaning all day long.
4 For day and night
your hand was heavy on me;
my strength was sapped
as in the heat of summer.[b]

5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you
and did not cover up my iniquity.
I said, “I will confess
my transgressions to the Lord.”
And you forgave
the guilt of my sin.

6 Therefore let all the faithful pray to you
while you may be found;
surely the rising of the mighty waters
will not reach them.
7 You are my hiding place;
you will protect me from trouble
and surround me with songs of deliverance.

8 I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.
9 Do not be like the horse or the mule,
which have no understanding
but must be controlled by bit and bridle
or they will not come to you.
10 Many are the woes of the wicked,
but the Lord’s unfailing love
surrounds the one who trusts in him.

11 Rejoice in the Lord and be glad, you righteous;
sing, all you who are upright in heart!

Like David, I reflected over one particular sin that I hid. I had made a really bad choice and was afraid of the consequence of acknowledging and confessing my sin. It was a zillion times worse than the feeling when you see the flashing lights and hear the siren of a police car behind you. I know that I had done wrong. I know that I had let God down, my loved ones down and myself down. Like David, when I kept silent, my bones wasted away
through my groaning all day long.  Day and night God’s hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer. The Joy of Forgiveness was no where in sight for me.

What did that look like? I spent each day trying to hide what I had done. Even though I knew God knew, I acted as if He did not know. My mind was tormented about what I did and the looming consequences. Day and night, I was dogged by random thoughts of guilt. The weight of what I had done and possibly had cost hit me like a Mack truck. It weighed me down like hiking packs of 10 soldiers. I struggled day after day to make it through.

Finally, I confessed my sin to God and to those whom I had wronged. When I did, I was blessed or happy. The weight of my guilt was truly lifted off me. No longer did I have night after sleepless night. God’s forgiveness had severed those guilty chains and the weight thereof.  When I experienced the forgiveness of those whom I had sinned, wronged or offended, it was like a cold drink of water after working all day in the hot sun without a single drop of water. It was like taking a long, hot bath after experiencing great soreness in your muscles and bones. It was like hitting the lottery. It was freeing. It was The Joy of Forgiveness just as the psalmist said.

Where are you? Are you running from some sin you have committed? Are the consequences of that sin too overwhelming? Do you think you could never recover from the error of your way? While God and David need not supporting examples, I serve as another example that God does forgive. I serve as an example of “Blessed is the one whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the one whose sin the Lord does not count against them and in whose spirit is no deceit.” When we confess our sin, we stop deceiving ourselves thinking God does not know or see what we have done. We stop deceiving ourselves and experience The Joy of Forgiveness.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

