I Will Not Yield My Praise to Another


In the post They Tried Me!, an example from scripture show where the Israelites demonstrated a lack of faith in God.  Turning Away from the Living God provides the warning and admonition from God to see to it, brothers and sisters, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God. You Shall have No Foreign god among You is a direct command for us not to place our trust in a false god. Listen to these verses that God provides instruction on who He is and how we should relate to Him.

Isaiah 43:11
11 I, even I, am the Lord, and apart from me there is no savior.

Psalm 81:10
10 I am the Lord your God, who brought you up out of Egypt. Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.

Isaiah 43:15
15 I am the Lord, your Holy One, Israel’s Creator, your King.”

It is no wonder that God goes on to further say I Will Not Yield My Praise to Another in Isaiah 42:8. In that passage, God provides the prophecy of the Messiah and the Gentiles share in the kingdom of God. Considering all that God has shown man of who He is and has done for man to redeem Him, God says in Isaiah 42:8 I Will Not Yield My Praise to Another. 

In essence, God is saying that He alone deserves all praise and no one else deserves the praise. Do you agree with Him? If you do, then our lives should be free of giving credit to luck, chance, mentors, by-standers or another or person, place or thing. In comparison to God, all are idols. Listen to what God says about in Isaiah 42:8 “I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not yield my glory to another or my praise to idols.”

The Hebrew word for Lord in Isaiah 42:8 is Yĕhovah which means Jehovah = “the existing One”. Rightly so, God is proclaiming that He is God – the existing One. He reasserts this in Isaiah 43:13 where He says, “before the day was, I am He”. He who always existed before I created creation. Since I am He who has always existed and the creator, I Will Not Yield My Praise to Another. 

After working extremely hard on a project with all your thought and energy, can you imagine giving credit to someone who has no connection with you? One who has no belief in you? One who isn’t even an animate object? No, you can’t unless you are already giving credit to someone or thing other than Jehovah, “the existing One”.

God says, ““I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not yield my praise (glory) to another or my praise to idols.” The implication there is that God will contend and win His glory. What will you choose? Will you surrender your life and follow Jehovah, “the existing One” through Jesus Christ or will you follow false gods/idols?

Listen to the heart and mind that God wants.

Leave a Reply

