Open wide your mouth and I will Fill It


As you may have found out by now, this site had been shut down. I was not sure why, but it was. I continued to ask WordPress how I had violated the agreement. It was a simple error and mistake. There was a post, A Giant Neon Sign, on August 16, 2010 that created the problem. There was also a repost of it on a later date. The post had a link to a commercial site.  While this was down, God told me to keep writing. He had me to pursue other means to not be reliant on this system despite its ease of use.  Within the next few weeks, I will have my own site that will be hosted, so I can avoid any issue like this in the future.

I found this text that spoke to me.

Psalm 81:9-11

9 You shall have no foreign god among you;
you shall not worship any god other than me.
10 I am the Lord your God,
who brought you up out of Egypt.
Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.

11 “But my people would not listen to me;
Israel would not submit to me.

We learn from Ligonier Ministries that the reference to bow down to a foreign god includes a warning which implies that Israel was not observing this basic commandment I am the Lord your God. Strongly reminiscent of the preamble to the Ten Commandments (Ex. 20:2). The relationship of grace came before revelation of the law. I will fill it. Much of Israel’s history, as recorded in Joshua through Chronicles, is the story of God’s people looking for satisfaction without God. If they were worried about rain, they turned to Baal (1 Kin. 18). If they were worried about enemies, they wanted a strong king (1 Sam. 8). They kept forgetting they had a God who could and would fulfill all their needs easily.

The message to me was God has sought me and freed me to proclaim His truth. He told me to seek a resolution, but it was never an option to stop posting. I have been called to share the Word of God. The internet has given me a medium to do that with people and in places that I could not ever physical see or go. According to WordPress annual report, this post has been read in more than 200 countries. I had never actually thought about how many countries there were in the world. I surely did not think it was that many. Despite my ignorance, God has used this medium to share His thoughts with me.  Where He tells me to Open wide your mouth and I will Fill It. I am looking forward to hear from God how He used this post. I am excited about being involved in the work of God in ways I know not.

Thank you for reading and following what God gives me to say. May you be encouraged to follow after Christ as a consequence.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

