I Will Winnow Them


In the posts God’s Rule and Reign In Life and Must You be Controlled by Bit and Bridle?, some interesting dynamics about how God relates to man surfaced. After completing the latter post, I continued to do some reading especially as another friend communicated with me about being tired about circumstances of life. In effort to provide my friend some Word for encouragement, I found Jeremiah 15.

Specifically, God expresses that He was tired. Tired not as in having the ability to go on, but tired of holding back punishment for their disobedience. I wonder how many of us ever thinks about how patient God is in dealing with our disobedience. I have children of my own, and I work with about a thousand children every day. I can empathize with God’s position. Listen to what God says in Jeremiah 15.

“Who will have pity on you, Jerusalem?
Who will mourn for you?
Who will stop to ask how you are?
You have rejected me,” declares the Lord.
“You keep on backsliding.
So I will reach out and destroy you;
I am tired of holding back.
I will winnow them with a winnowing fork
at the city gates of the land.
I will bring bereavement and destruction on my people,
for they have not changed their ways.

God expresses his frustration with the peoples’ failure to humble themselves and become obedient. As a consequence, God says, I Will Winnow Them. According to dictionary.com, winnow is defined as to free grain from the lighter particles of chaff, dirt, etc., especially by throwing it into the air and allowing the wind or a forced current of air to blow away impurities. God uses the metaphor of people as use pieces of grain or useless pieces of chaff. God expresses that He will separate people based on their usefulness for Him. Those who will not relent in following their own will and way are like the chaff.

I Will Winnow Them is the rallying cry. I don’t want God to cause the winds of life to blow on me because His storms or His disruptions always hurt. I would rather do right without those encouragements to humble myself. I certainly don’t want God to express His tiredness of my unwillingness to humble myself. Join me in humbling ourselves before God. I want this response “When the Lord saw that they humbled themselves, this word of the Lord came to Shemaiah: “Since they have humbled themselves, I will not destroy them but will soon give them deliverance. My wrath will not be poured out on Jerusalem through Shishak.” 2 Chronicles 12:7

Leave a Reply

