Forfeiture of Peace


I have not written since I submitted the post Forgiveness is Not an Option for the Believer. What I want to share is that if we really want to deal with an issue in our lives, God is committed to leading us down the road to completeness – InnerState 7. My heart’s desire is to live in peace. The lack of peace is what drove me to Jesus nearly 30 years ago. It is still an issue that drives me to Jesus to this very moment. When I agonize the most in life, it is because I do not have peace. I do not have peace when I fail to walk in concert with the will and way of God.

Forgiveness is Not an Option for the Believer was given to me by God to help me exercise some really negative and sinful thoughts over the past weeks. Just Saturday, I was still dealing with Forgiveness is Not an Option for the Believer. I was going to a family event. I really had a lot of work to do. I really wanted to get that work done as well as to attend to one personal matter, so I would not have any work on Labor Day. Ironic, huh. Needless to say, I was mad; no, I was angry. For What? I could not have my way. I did not get what I wanted. I felt like someone did not treat me the way I wanted to be treated.

Aren’t those all the usual culprits when angry derails peace in our lives. For me, this was inner and outer peace. I was not experiencing InnerState 7. James 4 was true as it always is if we make the wrong choices in our lives.

What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? You desire but do not have, so you kill. You covet but you cannot get what you want, so you quarrel and fight. You do not have because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world means enmity against God? Therefore, anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God. Or do you think Scripture says without reason that he jealously longs for the spirit he has caused to dwell in us? But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says:

“God opposes the proud
but shows favor to the humble.”

Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded. Grieve, mourn and wail. Change your laughter to mourning and your joy to gloom. 10 Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.

Truly, there were battles within me. I felt the waging war emotionally as I did not get what I want. I called out to God to help me – to humble myself before Him. He reminded me that I could not hold anything against anyone if I wanted to forgive. He reminded me that I had offended others as well as Him on countless of occasions and received forgiveness. He reminded me that if I received forgiveness I was obligated to forgive. In forgiving, it reflected His glory and released me from holding on to resentment which embitters and entangles me in sin.

I could refuse holding on to my anger and resentment and thus experience the Forfeiture of Peace. As my son sat with me at the beginning of writing this post, we discussed what forfeiture meant when he read the title. I shared that it was something to which the right is lost. Because of the mercy, grace and salvation of God, I have a right to peace (John 14:27, Acts 10:36, Romans 5:1, Romans 15:131 Corinthians 7:15Galatians 5:22, Ephesians 2:14, Philippians 4:6-8, Colossians 3:15, 1 Thessalonians 5:13, Hebrews 12:11, Hebrews 12:14, 1 Peter 5:14, Revelation 1:4). When I fail to trust God, to forgive, to humble myself, I experience the Forfeiture of Peace. I write to share my struggles to encourage you, but more importantly, I write that you may avoid my struggles, hardships, and sins. You don’t have to experience the Forfeiture of Peace. You can live at peace by following what Christ has told us. “They must turn from evil and do good; they must seek peace and pursue it”. 1 Peter 3:11

Join me.

Leave a Reply

