O Lord, How Majestic is Your Name In All the Earth


When I am craving one of my favorite foods or deserts, one bite is all I need some times. That one bite meets my expectations. My palate is satisfied. My brain receives the message and processes that desire has been met. Are there times when I want more? Yes, but I am sure that we all can relate that the one bite, one slice, one scoop, one spoonful often satisfies our needs.

This is what happened to me as I began to read this morning. I turned to Psalms 8. The first verse is what did it for me. It reads “O Lord, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth, Who have displayed Your splendor (glory) above the heavens!” That verse is the inspiration of a song that I learn back in the 80’s. The refrain repeats O Lord, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth.  It says O Lord we praise your name, O Lord, we magnify your name, Prince of Peace, Mighty God, O Lord, God Almighty. This was enough for me. This was my satisfying bite. It helps me to focus on the name of God. It helps me to remember that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus is Lord (Philippians 2:11).

Have you ever pondered who God is through His name? Have you considered what Psalms 8 says about the majesty of God’s name. Beyond the royalty of His name, this points to the supreme greatness of God’s authority and sovereignty. Those are two concepts that satisfy my soul. Matthew 28:18 says, “Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,”  God gave Jesus authority that is the power and right to control, command or determine any issue or decision. Just think of that for a moment. Jesus, who died for me and called me to Himself, has the authority to decide matters that pertain to me. Jesus who is righteous can decide. Jesus who is true and pure can decide. Sorry, will decide. I can trust Jesus. I can say O Lord, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth. 

If that does not fire you up, may what

Ligonier Ministries suggests about Psalms 8 will. Ligonier states the subject of this hymn is the excellence of God in His works of creation, a major theme of the wisdom literature. The psalm can be called a wisdom poem. It ponders God’s exaltation of lowly humanity in giving them dominion over creation (Gen. 1:28).  Matthew Henry also wrote that this psalm is a solemn meditation on, and admiration of, the glory and greatness of God, of which we are all concerned to think highly and honourably. It begins and ends with the same acknowledgment of the transcendent excellency of God’s name. It is proposed for proof (Ps. 8:1) that God’s name is excellent in all the earth, and then it is repeated as proved (with a “quod erat demonstrandum”—which was to be demonstrated) in the Ps. 8:9. For the proof of God’s glory the psalmist gives instances of his goodness to man; for God’s goodness is his glory. God is to be glorified.

The excellency of His name is rooted in the excellency of His character – who He is. We can trust the character of God/Jesus because He is perfect. I am screaming in my head, everyone is asleep, O Lord, our Lord, How majestic is Your name in all the earth. Be blessed you guys.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

