Lord hears when I call to Him


In the post Confidence in the Face of Fear, confidence surfaces when we are trusting in who God is and what God can do. As we do, we experience great peace and confidence in the face of weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. As I began reading this morning to hear from the Lord, there is one verse that continued to resonate repeatedly in my mind. Often, we hear people say ‘I am blessed and highly favored’ as they respond to how are you. I wonder how many of those who say that can tell me why. Well, I am going to give us two reasons today from Psalms 4.

In Psalms 4:3, David says that the faithful or godly has been set apart by God for his own purposes. The second blessing and favor is that God hears him when he calls.

Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself;
the Lord hears when I call to him.

To reiterate, another word for faithful is godly. In the Hebrew, the word is chaciyd (khä·sēd’). It means faithful, kind, godly, holy one, saint, pious. This verse and several in Psalms 4 show the benefit of the person who enters into the covenant relationship God offers us through Jesus Christ. Through Christ, God offers man the opportunity to be redeemed and reconciled. Without Christ, we remain enemies of God. With Christ, the hostility we created with God because of our disobedience is eliminated. Colossians 1:20-22 We also learn that we become friends with God when our obedience to him is enacted. John 15:14

We all have experienced or heard of the incident of people picking teams and no one wants the kid who can’t play. Inherent in pickers unwillingness to pick the last players is their devaluation of their ability. God knows that we have no ability and no worth other than that which he gives us, but He still picks us not because of who we are but because of who He is and what He can make us. God, through David, says that He sets apart the faithful for himself. Again, know that our faithfulness is seen through the lens of Christ. You and I both know that we are not faithful to anyone or anything, but God chooses to see us as faithful through the blood of Christ. God continues to remain committed to being in relationship with Him because He chose us to be. 2 Timothy 2:13

Since God set us apart and hears when I call, I can say that I am blessed and highly favored. I can say that I am somebody. I am someone special. I am not sure if we contemplate the magnitude of being known by God and having Him hear us when we call. I do not devalue that blessing. At any time, at any place, I can call on God with the assurance that He hears me. The connotation is that if He hears me because I am in need. Since I express my faith in Him by calling on Him, He will answer. I am not talking about God being my personal Santa Claus or Genie. I am talking about my Relying And Depending In Christ As Lord – R.A.D.I.C.A.L. Life. God expects the believer to call on Him to live life in a manner consistent with His Word, so God can use us to build His kingdom.

The Lord hears when I call to Him is a great blessing and favor. It is a source of David’s confidence. It is becoming one for me in the midst of my challenges. How about you? Do you call upon the name of the LORD as your help? Has God set you apart for himself? More importantly, did you join Him in His work?

 

If you want more insight and biblical perspective on the matter from Psalms. 4:3, read an entry from commentator, Matthew Henry, for that extra.

Matthew Henry wrote “He shows them the peculiar favour which God has for good people, the special protection they are under, and the singular privileges to which they are entitled, Ps. 4:3. This comes in here, (1.) As a reason why they should not oppose or persecute him that is godly, nor think to run him down. It is at their peril if they offend one of these little ones, whom God hasset apart for himselfMatt. 18:6. God reckons that those who touch them touch the apple of his eye; and he will make their persecutors to know it, sooner or later. They have an interest in heaven, God will hear them, and therefore let none dare to do them any injury, for God will hear their cry and plead their cause, Exod. 22:23. It is generally supposed that David speaks of his own designation to the throne; he is the godly man whom the Lord has set apart for that honour, and who does not usurp it or assume it to himself: “The opposition therefore which you give to him and to his advancement is very criminal, for the rein you fight against God, and it will be vain and ineffectual.” God has, in like manner, set apart the Lord Jesus for himself, that merciful One; and those that attempt to hinder his advancement will certainly be baffled, for the Father hears him always. Or, (2.) As a reason why they should themselves be good, and walk no longer in the counsel of the ungodly: “You have hitherto sought vanity; be truly religious, and you will be truly happy here and for ever; for,” [1.] “God will secure to himself his interest in you.”The Lord has set apart him that is godly, every particular godly man, for himself, in his eternal choice, in his effectual calling, in the special disposals of his providence and operations of his grace; his people are purified unto him a peculiar people. Godly men are God’s separated, sealed, ones; he knows those that are his, and has set his image and superscription upon them; he distinguishes them with uncommon favours: They shall be mine, saith the Lord, in that day when I make up my jewels. Know this; let godly people know it, and let them never alienate themselves from him to whom they are thus appropriated; let wicked people know it, and take heed how they hurt those whom God protects. [2.] “God will secure to you an interest in himself.” This David speaks with application: The Lord will hear when I call unto him. We should think ourselves happy if we had the ear of an earthly prince; and is it not worth while upon any terms, especially such easy ones, to gain the ear of the King of kings? Let us know this, and forsake lying vanities for our own mercies.”

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

