Confidence in the Face of Fear


In the post Who Lifts Your Head When You are Down?, the question Who encourages you when you are dejected and disappointed? was presented. It was conveyed that we who trust in Jehovah, the Almighty God, receives an answer from God when we call out to Him when we are dejected and discouraged. Now, we look further in  Psalms 3 to see what else King David shared with us about the benefit of calling on Jehovah in the midst of our dejection and discouragement.

Psalms 3

I lie down and sleep;
I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.
I will not fear though tens of thousands
assail me on every side.

Arise, Lord!
Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
break the teeth of the wicked.

From the Lord comes deliverance.
May your blessing be on your people.

David shares with us who God is, our a shield, glory, and the One who lifts our head high. After trusting God, David expresses another benefit of having Jehovah the centerpiece of our faith.  First, David could now lie down and sleep. Before, he was consumed with the anguish of the assault on his kingship especially from that of his own son, Absalom. I am not sure about you, but I have been consumed with an issue that caused me to fear as well as ones which I loathed. I just could not sleep, and if I did, I only slept intermittently. Furthermore, David says that he can face the day or wake up because he was convinced that God sustains him.

Once he awakens, David states that he will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side. I have never faced such imminent danger like that before and never will. Yet, David said that fear would not be his primary thought and feeling. Confidence that arises from faith in Jehovah is that which consumed his mind. In my present circumstance, I really could benefit from that as when I awake fear is there seeking to seize me. Unfortunately, I struggle to maintain that confidence that David expressed as a result of knowing God sustained him.

In his prayer, David reengages God asking for God’s deliverance. The call for God to arise is a call for arms, for God to spring into action to fight on behalf of his people, for his king, for his man. The benefit of prayer surfaces again. Peace and confidence surface when we exercise and express our faith in Jehovah.  Matthew Henry expresses God had often broken the power and restrained the malice of his enemies, had smitten them upon the cheek-bone (Ps. 3:7), had silenced them and spoiled their speaking, blemished them and put them to shame, smitten them on the cheek reproachfully, had disabled them to do the mischief they intended; for he had broken their teeth. Saul and the Philistines, who were sometimes ready to swallow him up, could not effect what they designed. The teeth that are gnashed or sharpened against God’s people shall be broken. When, at any time, the power of the church’s enemies seems threatening, it is good to remember how often God has broken it; and we are sure that his arm is not shortened. He can stop their mouths and tie their hands.

Lastly, David’s faith is seen as he asks for deliverance in verse seven and conveys deliverance is provided by God in verse eight. It is God’s deliverance and God’s  blessing that buoy our lives.  When we are trusting in who God is and what God can do, we experience great peace and confidence in the face of weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. As Paul tells us in 2 Corinthians 12, “For when I am weak, then I am strong.” God uses trying situations as shaping tool to refine our character. Romans 8:29 says, “For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son.”

We should not lose sight of God’s goal in responding to us in prayer – that we might be for the praise of his glory. It is our belief in God that allows us to have Confidence in the Face of Fear. Who are we going to trust? If we will trust in God, we must recall who He is and stand in faith of who God is and what God can do.

 

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

