In the post The Lord Knows Where You Are Going, the notion that God has a plan for our lives was revisited and reiterated. We, well at least I do, tend to forget that God loves us and has a wonderful plan for our lives. I had no idea that I would be working with kids as a vocation. In fact, I am stupefied over the matter. I did not even like kids which almost cost me my wife. Near the end of our courtship, she told me that she did not want to continue investing in our relationship because I did not want kids. Hedging my investment, I conveyed to her not right now at least. I was open. Now, I see that God used that to begin causing me to be open to His plan.

God's Reminder

On yesterday, one of my former students, Lanika, posted this image on Facebook. It was a very subtle reminder from God to me of who I am to Him. Frequently, God reminds us of who we are to Him. We are either thinking too much of ourselves, and He has to remind us of who we are, or we are thinking too lowly of ourselves, and He has to remind us of who we are in Christ to Him. Let’s peer into the verses listed here.

 

Every day God thinks of you.
Psalms 68:19 – 19 Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior, who daily bears our burdens.

Every hour God looks after you.
2 Thessalonians 3:3 – But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.
Every minute God cares for you.
1 Peter 5:7 – Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.
Because every second, He loves you.
Jeremiah 31:3 – The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.”

Now, I am not sure if you realize that every possible second, nano second or any other measurement of time that God has His eye on those who love Him. In His faithfulness, he will strengthen and protect us from the evil one who is the true enemy not the people who dislike you or even the loved one whom you thought did not treat you right. He calls us to throw or cast our anxiety on Him.  I have some things that are capturing my attention while seemingly feeling some trepidation. Throw them to Him because He cares for us. He has drawn us to Himself and loves us with an everlasting love. It never ends. In fact, as the song says, its new with every rising of the sun because His love is everlasting; it’s an everlasting love.

Some times, I just needed to be reminded of who I am to God. I shouldn’t, but that is the reality. Through His Spirit, His Word, His people and His constructed circumstances God speaks to us reminding us of how much we are loved. Let’s open our eyes and ears. No, ask God to open them, so we can see and hear the demonstration and proclamation of His love through Jesus Christ.

 

Leave a Reply

