The Lord Knows Where You Are Going


My first serious reflectional inquiry into the direction of my life stems from Mohogany, the 1975 American romantic drama written by Renee Ann Byrd, directed by Berry Gordy and produced by Motown Productions. My how Detroit has fallen, but I digress.  In it, Tracy, an aspiring designer from the slums of Chicago puts herself through fashion school in the hopes of becoming one of the world’s top designers. Her ambition leads her to Rome spurring a choice between the man she loves or her newfound success. She faces a crossroads similar to what Robert Frost wrote about in “The Road Not Taken”.

Diana Ross’ “Do You Know Where You Are Going To” is the theme song from Mohogany. As songs often do, the chorus, found in the first verse, from the song constantly replayed in my head.

Do you know where you’re going to?
Do you like the things that life is showing you?
Where are you going to? do you know?
Do you get what you’re hoping for?
When you look behind you there’s no open door
What are you hoping for?
Do you know?

More importantly, it resonated because I did not know where I was going to. I had no clue about what I wanted to be or do in life let alone how to deal with the challenges I was facing any day or week. I was overwhelmed by that notion and somewhat befuddled by that question. The truth is that I never came close to finding the answer to that question more than 10 years later. My mother talked to me a great deal about choices in life. That case was no different, but the question of Do you know still reverberated in my mind.

Well almost 40 years later, I still do not know where I am going to. The greatest difference is that now I know “The Lord Knows Where You Are Going“. While I am not coping out or skirting responsibility, I am simply acknowledging that I am not omniscient. I don’t know everything, but God does. It was Proverbs 16:9 that settle the matter for me when I was 19 years old. I learned the Word of God said, In a man’s heart, he plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.

That’s what I thought of when I read Psalms 1:6 – For the Lord knows the way of the righteous, But the way of the ungodly shall perish. The meaning of the word way is the action of going, walking, a going, hence a journey which anyone takes; a way or path that one takes that leads to a place.  God knows the path He has set for us. It is a way/path of righteousness as we learned in the post God uses Similes. Remember, God compared the man who follows him with the man who does not follow Him. We are shown the way of both and the end of both. I don’t know the future. The sun has not risen, yet, but just as certain as I am that the sun will rise, I am certain that God knows what’s best and does what’s best. This is true of the way for my life and reaffirms that “The Lord Knows Where You Are Going

If that is not enough for you, maybe more of His Word will convince you. Listen and reflect on Jeremiah 29:11-13:

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

As in Psalms 1:1-3, it is the man who pursues God’s way that experiences the blessings. The Lord Knows Where You Are Going, but are you going to follow? He promises that you will be happy, produce fruit and will prosper if you do. I still can’t respond to Diana’s question, but I do know that the way/path that God has led me down has been a great one including all the hardships and disappoints. The Lord Knows Where You Are Going. Join Him

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

