Demonstrate Discipleship


In the post More than a Chance Encounter, I stated that Acts 18 chronicles additional examples of how the gospel of Jesus Christ began to be spread especially as it relates to how God used Paul. In the first two verses of Acts 18, Paul meets Aquila and Priscilla who became partners with him in sharing the gospel. We see that God is fulfilling His promise Jesus made in Acts 1:8 which says, “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” Aquila and Priscilla accompany Paul to Syria, Antioch and Ephesus.

Now at the end of Acts 18, we see Aquila and Priscilla Demonstrate Discipleship as they replicate what Paul did in their lives.  Apollos, a new believer, surfaces. He was from Alexandria which if you recall was in Egypt on the Mediterranean portion of the county. He is also said to have been a Jews and “a learned man, with a thorough knowledge of the Scriptures. 25 He had been instructed in the way of the Lord, and he spoke with great fervor and taught about Jesus accurately, though he knew only the baptism of John. 26 He began to speak boldly in the synagogue.” He is credited with speaking with eloquence which enabled him to express clearly and enforce skillfully what, as a Jew, he had gathered from a diligent study of the Old Testament Scriptures

Despite Apollos’ giftedness, Aquila and Priscilla that he had not been informed of Jesus fulfilling the prophecy of the Messiah who saved through spiritual means. As a consequence, the Word says, “they invited him to their home and explained to him the way of God more adequately.” Just as Paul had done with them, Aquila and Priscilla did with Apollos. They Demonstrate Discipleship in developing the understanding of Apollos about Jesus Christ. 

This begs me to ask of myself to whom have I Demonstrated Discipleship. Currently, I am guilty of not pouring into the life or lives of another for Christ’s sake. The failure to replicate the multiplication process has been another failure on my part for Christ. Sure, I share Christ. I do a poorer job of demonstrating Him in my daily affairs, but God calls on us, at least for a time, to have a life on life relationship with another whom we can share what we have been given. Paul gave to Aquila and Priscilla who gave to Apollos and others as the text tells us further along.

Father, forgive me for failing you. I have not lived up to the standard that you given me to Demonstrate Discipleship. Please help me to live out my purpose. Sharpen me that I would have Christ to offer someone without disqualifying Jesus by my words and deeds. Father, help me, like Paul, Aquila and Priscilla whom I can share Jesus with more thoroughly. You have called me to be your disciple. Move me out of the way that I would fulfill your purpose in my life. Amen.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

