A Memorial Offering Before God


As I got ready for the day on Memorial Day, I was struck by God. He simply asked what memorial would I recognize for Him. I contemplated the matter for a moment. After that, I searched the Word for the word memorial. In the search, my wife and I read through the verses. At the last reference, she said, “that is it!”

It was Acts 10:3-5 which says,

One day at about three in the afternoon he had a vision. He distinctly saw an angel of God, who came to him and said, “Cornelius!”  Cornelius stared at him in fear. “What is it, Lord?” he asked. The angel answered, “Your prayers and gifts to the poor have come up as a memorial offering before God. Now send men to Joppa to bring back a man named Simon who is called Peter.”

The text was very familiar as I have been posting from scriptures that are in Acts. What God said specifically to me was that I was flawed in my thinking about trying to find some object that I could dedicate to Him as a memorial.

God told me the greatest memorial was for me to read His Word and to pray to Him daily. In doing so, it I would certainly preserve the memory of who He is and what He has done for mankind and me. The greatest memorial is for me to remember God by showing my desire and pursuit of Him by reading the Word and praying.

A Memorial Offering Before God is our hearts and mind. Give them to Him!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

