But they kept shouting, “Crucify him! Crucify him!”


In the post Do You Resist The Holy Spirit?, it was concluded that we all resist following the Holy Spirit. The epitome of denying the power of God is found in our text, Luke 23. In Luke 23, we see Jesus being brought to Pilate and Herod by the Jewish leaders who wanted to maintain control, authority and power (C.A.P.). They were afraid that Jesus was endearing too many people who would result in their C.A.P. loss.

Despite all their efforts to assign fault and blame to Jesus, hear what Pilate repeated thrice about Jesus.

Then Pilate announced to the chief priests and the crowd,I find no basis for a charge against this man…

13 Pilate called together the chief priests, the rulers and the people, 14 and said to them, “You brought me this man as one who was inciting the people to rebellion. I have examined him in your presence and have found no basis for your charges against him. 15 Neither has Herod, for he sent him back to us; as you can see, he has done nothing to deserve death. 16 Therefore, I will punish him and then release him.”

18 But the whole crowd shouted, “Away with this man! Release Barabbas to us!” 19 (Barabbas had been thrown into prison for an insurrection in the city, and for murder.)

20 Wanting to release Jesus, Pilate appealed to them again. 21 But they kept shouting, “Crucify him! Crucify him!

22 For the third time he spoke to them: “Why? What crime has this man committed? I have found in him no grounds for the death penalty. Therefore I will have him punished and then release him.”

23 But with loud shouts they insistently demanded that he be crucified, and their shouts prevailed. 24 So Pilate decided to grant their demand. 25 He released the man who had been thrown into prison for insurrection and murder, the one they asked for, and surrendered Jesus to their will.

Too often, we only blame the Jewish rulers and people of that day for Jesus’ death. Jesus said in John 10

15 As the Father knows Me, even so I know the Father; and I lay down My life for the sheep. 16 And other sheep I have which are not of this fold; them also I must bring, and they will hear My voice; and there will be one flock and one shepherd.17 “Therefore My Father loves Me, because I lay down My life that I may take it again. 18 No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down of Myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This command I have received from My Father.”

It’s just not the Jews of that day; we all are to blame. Romans 6:23 tells us that the gift of eternal life is only through Christ’s sacrifice. I want you to know that each time we decide that we will take our lives into our own hands, denying the power of the Spirit of God, we too are effectually exclaiming  “Crucify him! Crucify him!

The good in “Good Friday” is that Jesus willingly laid down His life for His sheep. I know that I am one who is in the fold; therefore, I am rejoicing at the symbolism of Good Friday. What about you?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

